Blog Tour: Book Review + Giveaway – Freeing Asia – E.M. Abel

It doesn’t get any sweeter that this book! Seriously. I highlighted so much of it, I realized if I used all the quotes I would end up re-writing the book 🙂 in short, I absolutely loved it!

And now for the long of it…

Asia Fuller has loved once in her life. But it was not reciprocated. Since then she just goes with the motions. Hasn’t been with any other man since him. Him, Marcus, her brother’s bestfriend. They all used to hang out together in high school. Asia felt like one of the boys and while she enjoyed hanging out, surfing, skating and smoking some weed with the boys, no one hit on her. And especially not Marcus, the one guy she really liked. Fast forward years now and she’s tired of the pity party. Well, more like her gay friend Nick, is tired of it. A makeover later and Jay comes into the picture. Super rich, super attractive Jay wants Asia. But Jay is about to be CEO of his dad’s company which has Asia worried. She feels more comfortable in torn jeans and flip flops, so maybe the girl in high heels that Jay likes doesn’t really exist. Or maybe it’s time to turn into that girl to keep Jay.

His life was full of champagne and caviar while mine was filled with beer and barbecues.

As this is going on, Marcus is back in town…

The fact that he was forbidden, that I knew he was bad for me only made me want him more.

You know what’s coming, a love triangle! And an awesome one at that. I absolutely loved it. I will say that the book started slow. I read the first 10% a bit unsure as to how it would go. Then I started loving Asia and by the end of the book she became a book best friend. She was a bit insecure but so so cool. I found her hilarious, especially when drunk or high, she reminded me of my best friend in college. Such fun times! But I digress. I loved Asia and I was definitely rooting for her.

Now turning to my favorite subject, men 😉 The men in the book… whoa! I’ve said before that I love love triangles where it’s difficult to choose and I have to say that in the beginning I had no idea who I was rooting for. Jay with his money, suits and sophistication…. and let’s not forget the steamy scenes! But then there was Marcus, typical skater boy with his tattoos, cargo pants and bad boy demeanor. Swooooooon! But by the time I’d gotten halfway I was firmly rooting for Marcus… I mean, who wouldn’t when he talks like this…

“… the best part is you have no clue how special you are.”

My eyebrows furrowed. “Why is that the best part?”

“Because that means I’m the one who gets to watch you figure it out.”

I know, I know, a bad boy with a heart of gold… I loved it! Like I said, the book did start out slow but boy does it pick up! I loved how ‘real’ it was. I could really imagine Asia hanging out with her brother Shaun, Marcus and their group of friends. I loved how easy going they all were. I loved how much it took me back to my college days. I’ve read books where something happens and I’m thinking, hmmm… how unnatural. So then when a book like this comes along, it’s all I can do to restrain myself from shouting from the rooftops.

I liked Asia, she reminded me of most of my friends. I truly smiled and laughed with her when things were good and my heart ached for her at her low times. Her aim was to find herself. To free herself from all the heart ache. It wasn’t as overly dramatic as NA tends to be. It was just right. And in the end, while both men do hurt her, they also love her, and she chooses 🙂

I’d never felt more loved, more cherished, and more at peace than I did in that moment. I finally set my heart free, and now, it was soaring.

No, I won’t tell you who she chose. I will however take this opportunity to SHOUT FROM THE ROOFTOPS! Such a sweet story. An incredible debut. It will stay with me. Guaranteed.

5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link – Freeing Asia by E.M Abel

freeing asia

I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

GIVEAWAY!!!

So many things up for grabs!

  • $20 Amazon Giftcard
  • $20 B&N Giftcard
  • $20 iTunes Giftcard
  • 3 signed Paperbacks of Freeing Asia (US Only)
  • 10 e-copies of Freeing Asia
  • 5 Swag Parks (US Only)

Just click on a Rafflecopter giveaway to enter!

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, New Adult and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

