Book Review – Connected (The Connection Series #1) – Kim Karr

That’s one hell of an ending! And I’ll be honest with you, I never saw it coming! That and the last chapter… damn!

In Connected we meet Dahlia London. She goes to a party with her best friend and meets River Wilde, the leader singer of The Wilde Ones. As soon as they meet, they have a connection. One that defies all reason. Unfortunately, Dahlia has a boyfriend, Ben. She’s loved Ben all her life and no way is she going to throw all this away for some new guy, no matter the connection. Dahlia goes back to Ben, but fate has other plans. Could a ‘once-in-a-lifetime’ happen twice?

I initially read this book when I was going through a bad time and so the fact that the first few chapters were extremely sad made me a bit wary. I really needed a pick-me-upper! A comedy later (Friends if you’re wondering), I resumed the book and realized that after the sorrow, the story somewhat flat-lined. By flat-lined I mean that, while the book was incredibly sweet… there was no conflict to speak of and hardly any angst. Admittedly I did enjoy the book, it was a sweet kind of flat-line. Where you still ‘ohhh’ and ‘ahhh’ and ‘awww’ but it is unfortunately filled with some eye-rolls. For example, River and Dahlia connected, hence the title, but I did feel as if the word ‘connected’ or their connection was hammered in time and time again, hence the eye-rolls.

That being said, I enjoyed the story. The music references were beautiful and their connection truly was out of this world. I also loved the fact that there was a love triangle. Of course it was a completely different one (I’m trying to be spoiler free here) but a love triangle nonetheless. I liked River and Dahlia’s relationship. It wasn’t as steamy as I’d like it and to be honest, unrealistically too much at times, but it was sweet. Ben and Dahlia on the other hand, I loved. I thought there was love and realness in their relationship so I think I rooted for him.

I’d read that there would be a cliffhanger. I just didn’t realize how much I’d be left hanging!

3 stars for the majority of the book and 4 stars for the last two chapters – I seriously did not expect that! Can’t wait for the next book!

3.5 stars.

Amazon Buy Link – Connected by Kim Karr

connected

I’d like to thank the author and Netgalley for providing this copy for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – Connected (The Connection Series #1) – Kim Karr

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour: Book Review + Giveaway – Torn (Connections #2) – Kim Karr | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

