Book Review – Tear You Apart – Megan Hart

Megan Hart is my favorite author. And this book proves yet again why that is. I always have to prepare myself for her books. They all have a layer of sadness that always has me ugly crying. And while this one has her signature lyrical writing, it did not reduce me to tears like the rest. It did however leave me emotional strung out… but I’m not complaining. See, I expect this from her books. I expect to fall in love with her writing all over again, I expect the story to touch me, and I expect to obsess about the characters. I expect that book hangover.

So, Elisabeth works for her friend Naveen at his gallery in New York. She lives in Philadelphia with her husband of 22 years, Ross. During an art show at the gallery, Elisabeth meets an artist, Will. She is unwittingly drawn into a discussion about his art. And particularly one piece which she does not consider ‘art’. She finds herself drawn to Will and when he asks her out for a cup of coffee, she agrees. Only, it’s at his loft, and the sexual tension is palpable. They embark on an affair. One which is too much too fast, yet feels right.

When he says my name, I see it in shimmering shades of blue and green and gray. Those are not my colors. I’m red and orange and yellow. Brown. My name is autumn moving on toward winter darkness, but not the way Will says it. When he says my name, I see summer. I see the ocean.

Elisabeth has synesthesia – a neurological condition in which stimulation of one sensory or cognitive pathway leads to automatic, involuntary experiences in a second. Basically, she associates voices to taste and color. Will to her is blue, the ocean. And she loves what he makes her feel, what he makes her see – bursts of light everytime. So she can’t bring herself to feel any remorse about the affair. She’s not in love with Ross anymore and he stopped paying attention to her years ago. What starts out as pure attraction becomes so much more. They want to stop it – it isn’t right. They don’t want to stop it – it feels so right.

I absolutely loved this book. I was yet again immersed into Megan Hart’s writing style. Again, so lyrical, so flawless, it gives you no choice but to be the character. To be Elisabeth and suffer through her decisions and her choices. I’m not sure I can fully explain what her writing does to me. I have rituals before I read any of her books, I have to measure the mood I’m in, because her books demand all my attention and giving them anything but would be a disservice. And everytime, after I’m done, when I’m hating Megan just a little bit because the endings are always… sigh… the endings… anyway, when I’m done, I want to give myself a week before I touch another book. Especially any of her books. My emotions can’t handle two of her books in the same week! Yet when I do pick up another of her books, I berate myself for waiting so long.

But back to the story. I know people who will not like this book because of the cheating element. But I think that would be short sighted. I felt sad, not for Ross, but for the situation Elisabeth found herself in. And I couldn’t help but cheer for her and Will. And every one of their encounters was as steamy as it was heartbreaking. I kept thinking it would be a sad world, one that would not allow these two to be together.

I’m on a train.

I don’t know which stop I got on or where I’ll get off; I only know the train is going, going fast, and the world outside becomes a blur. I’m on a train and I should get off, but I don’t.

The universe is playing a cosmic joke on me. Here I had my life, a good life with everything a woman could need, and suddenly, there is something more I didn’t know I could have or even want.

“Here,” the universe says, “here is a chance for you to not simply be ‘fine’ or ‘all right’ or ‘resigned.’ Here is a chance for you to be satisfied and content and maybe even on occasion deliriously, amazingly, exuberantly happy and full of joy. For you to have everything you didn’t know you needed, but always felt was missing.

It was such a heartfelt story. So full of angst. I felt for them, that they wanted what they couldn’t have. While Elisabeth was trying not to be selfish in her decisions, I understood her, but couldn’t help but be selfish for her. Urge her to embrace the happiness she could find with Will. I did wish for Will’s POV though. There were moments where I wondered what he would be thinking or doing when they weren’t together. And then that end happened… sigh…

This is erotica as it should be… or maybe erotica as I like it to be… 5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link – Tear You Apart by Megan Hart

tear you apart

Finally I’d like to thank Harlequin Mira and Netgalley for providing this ARC for my review.

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Review – Tear You Apart – Megan Hart

  1. athena says:

    I now too Love Megan Hart. Thank you J, I will also buy this book. Hava good week.
    xxxxx A

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Books of 2013 | Jessy's Book Club

  3. jamie says:

    I read it twice. I liked the fact that the book had middle age characters, not young hotties. Love and passion is not just for the young.I also love Megan Hart’s books. I find myself thinking about the characters for weeks after I am done reading her books.

    • I completely agre! I also loved the age of the characters… A nice break from New Adult and other contemporary romance books… And it’s impossible to forget her books… Definitely my favorite author!

  4. Pingback: Book Review – Vanilla – Megan Hart | Jessy's Book Club

  5. Pingback: Book Review – Beg For It – Megan Hart | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

