Rants and Raves – Of Dystopian Erotica…

I know, I know, I’ve been M.I.A… been having a crazy work month, so I spent my Sundays working or sleeping… nothing to rant or rave about :/ But today I felt less tired and more inspired…

excited barney <– what I look like 🙂

excitement fist pump <— what you should look like 🙂

Sooooo… today I’m raving about a series. Thing is, there are so many books I read and wonder why the whole world isn’t raving about them. I then make it my mission to get them more known 🙂 Ok, I’ve only done this once before, because usually I hope my reviews are enough, but sometimes I think a few words about a book might be what’s needed to get more people to read it.

The other day I chatted with a Goodreads friend about this series. We both agreed that it’s really exceptional yet we believe many of our friends avoid it because of one word: Dystopia. By now you’ll have guessed that I’m talking about one of my favorite series; the Beyond Series by Kit Rocha. Its genre, or sub-genre, is Dystopian Erotica. Meaning of course that it takes place in a dystopian society. A lot of my reading buddies then ask, is it like paranormal? No, it is not paranormal. Is it Sci-fi? No it is not.

So what is it? In a nutshell, Solar flairs have basically obliterated the world as we know it. And what is left is a society unlike any other. There is Eden – the perceived paradise, where they still have everything that was there before the flares. However, they are more controlled, everything ‘fun’ is frowned upon.

Then there’re the Sectors. Think Sons of Anarchy on steroids. Fornication, cage fighting, debauchery… the sectors have it all. Each Sector, 1 to 8, have their own leader and they vary greatly. Sector 4, or The Broken Circle, is the focus of the books. It’s led by Dallas O’Kane. While it doesn’t have as much comfort as Eden, or Sector 2 for that matter, it has a good leader, it’s a family, and everyone who becomes part of that family has to take ink, and become an O’Kane.

I have to admit that I was a bit apprehensive about the series. I tried watching that Denzel Washington post-apocalyptic movie, The Book of Eli, I slept in the movie theater. I then read post-apocalyptic erotica (not sure that’s what you call it) but the idea of sex while flesh eating zombies are after you disgusted me. So no, I was not sold on dystopian erotica. Mostly because I didn’t even realize the difference. Turns out it is nothing like the movie or the zombie erotica… thank God! I would compare this to ‘biker’ erotica. Only grittier and even more unapologetic… oh, plus these people love their orgies 🙂 Each book concentrates on a different character. There’re no zombies, and no sci-fi elements here. Just lust, lust… and love 🙂

BOOK ONE: BEYOND SHAME

beyond

All Noelle Cunningham has ever wanted is a life beyond–beyond the walls of Eden, where only the righteous are allowed to remain, and beyond her stiflingly restrictive existence as a councilman’s daughter. But only ruins lie outside the City, remnants of a society destroyed by solar storms decades earlier.

The sectors surrounding Eden house the corrupt, the criminal–men like Jasper McCray, bootlegger and cage fighter. Jas clawed his way up from nothing to stand at the right hand of Sector Four’s ruthless leader, and he’ll defend the O’Kane gang with his life. But no fight ever prepared him for the exiled City girl who falls at his feet.

Her innocence is undeniable, but so is their intense sexual attraction, and soon they’re crossing every boundary Noelle barely knew she had. But if she wants to belong to Jas, first she’ll have to open herself to the gang, to a dangerous world of sex, lust and violence. A world where passion is power, and freedom is found in submission.

Noelle went from a somewhat reserved city girl to f-f, m-f-f, m-f-m-f scenes… just move the letters around and she did it. It was erotica like I hadn’t read it before. I read Beyond Shame way before I started the blog which is why I have no review here but I’ll give you my favorite quote…

“I should have told you. I guess I…wanted you to know. I wanted you to know what I needed, but maybe you couldn’t understand that what I needed was you.”

“Do you need me?”

“I can survive without you, but it’s only that. Surviving. I want to live.”

While the steamy scenes far outweighed the emotional, I still absolutely enjoyed the book. Gave it 4 stars for being so different and oh so so steamy!

BOOK TWO: BEYOND CONTROL

control

She refuses to be owned.

Alexa Parrino escaped a life of servitude and survived danger on the streets to become one of the most trusted, influential people in Sector Four, where the O’Kanes rule with a hedonistic but iron fist. Lex has been at the top for years, and there’s almost nothing she wouldn’t do for the gang…and for its leader. Lie, steal, kill—but she bows to no one, not even Dallas O’Kane.

He’ll settle for nothing less.

Dallas fought long and hard to carve a slice of order out of the chaos of the sectors. Dangers both large and small threaten his people, but it’s nothing he can’t handle. His liquor business is flourishing, and new opportunities fuel his ambition. Lex could help him expand his empire, something he wants almost as much as he wants her. And no one says no to the king of Sector Four.

Falling into bed is easy, but their sexual games are anything but casual. Attraction quickly turns to obsession, and their careful dance of heady dominance and sweet submission uncovers a need so deep, so strong, it could crush them both.

Now this one was grittier in my opinion. It had elements of BDSM and I wondered how their relationship would work when neither of them are submissives. But it did… Read my review here.

Favorite Quote:

“He knows what’s his.”

Lex’s knees went weak. “Do you know, Dallas?”

“Every fucking thing I see,” he replied, close enough for his breath to stir the hair at her temple. “But you most of all. You above everyone.”

God I loved how Dallas become vulnerable for Lex. Only for Lex.

“I’ve always loved you.” A shudder worked through him, and he pulled her closer. “I’ve always wanted you. They don’t have a word for how much I need you. Everything good I am, everything good I’ve ever done…it’s all you. You make me a king. Without you, I’m just another psychotic thug.”

A definite 5 star read for me. And what’s more, the series just keeps getting better and better!

BOOK THREE: BEYOND PAIN

beyond pain

A woman with no future…

Live fast, die young–anything else is a fantasy for Six. She’s endured the worst the sectors had to throw at her, but falling in with Dallas O’Kane’s Sector Four gang lands her in a whole new world of danger. They’re completely open about everything, including their sexuality–but she hasn’t survived this long by making herself vulnerable. Especially not to men as dominant as Brendan Donnelly.

A man without a past…

Bren is a killer, trained in Eden and thrown to the sectors. His one outlet is pain, in the cage and in the bedroom, and emotion is a luxury he can’t afford–until he meets Six. Protecting her soothes him, but it isn’t enough. Her hunger for touch sparks a journey of erotic discovery where anything goes–voyeurism, flogging, rough sex. He has only one rule: he won’t share her.

In Bren’s arms, Six is finally free to let go. But his obsession with the man who made him a monster could destroy the fragile connection they’ve forged, and cost him the one thing that makes him feel human–her love.

I absolutely loved Beyond Pain. I think it became more emotional. I thought it’s because Bren and Six don’t share, unlike everyone else in the sectors. Maybe it’s because they both has such tortured backgrounds… either way… 5 stars! Read my review here.

Favorite quote:

God the way he was looking at her, with no pity or disgust. Intense, with only the slightest softening around his eyes to save his features from harshness. There was something contemplative in his gaze, like he was imagining some future where bad things didn’t happen to her. As if he was silently begging her to imagine it too.

I love the writing. I love that though it has amazing and creative steamy scenes, it also has an interesting storyline to go with it. I love that the men are alpha and possessive but can never be truly controlling because the women are strong. You will not find pushover, annoying heroines in this one. Even the emotionally broken are not truly down – they stand up for themselves and fight. I love that it already feels like a family – even though everyone gets down and dirty 😉 I will say it again, it’s unlike anything I’ve read before. Maybe not saying a lot since I haven’t read dystopian anything, but this for now, is more than enough to keep me sated.

Next up is Beyond Jealousy. I absolutely can’t wait! It’s going to  be the first m-f-m relationship in the series and I’m already so in love with Ace, I can’t wait for him to find happiness!

Series reading order -> https://jessysbookclub.wordpress.com/kit-rocha/

If you read (or have read) the series, please let me know what you think!

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rants and Raves – Of Dystopian Erotica…

  1. Lynette says:

    I completely agree with you Jessy!! I’ve tried the zombie-infested apocalyptic romances, but it’s just weird when the world is being eaten by zombies to fall in love and think of a future and happy little babies and whatnot 🙂 I have a difficult time getting into those too. I came across Kit Rocha’s series and I LOVE them!!! I haven’t read Beyond Pain yet, but it’s next on my list. It’s so different and interesting and HOT as hell!! 🙂

  2. jeanniezelos says:

    me too Jessy, Zombies? meh…the idea of them just turns my stomach, but Kit Rocha’s dystopia is something else. had the fiorst tow books for review and loved them 🙂 hoping to see bren and six story up fr reveiw – or i’ll buy it as i just love this sereis. I didn’t go for the whole paranormal thing for years convinced Vampires etc were just a blood and guts type story then bought a fantasy book in mistake for a historical one ( speed reading description!!) about 5 years ago and loved it, then more and my love of fantsy/paranormal/dystopian was born.

    • Jeannie, Kit Rocha had put ARC requests on their bog… donno if they’re still giving them out since the book is out now…

      But I know what you mean… there’re some words that used to put me off, dystopia was one of them… and until recently, I couldn’t imagine reading about the Fae… now I’m somewhat intrigued. I used to love historical romance but now I can’t imagine myself reading the genre… you know what we should do? map some sort of genre reading evolution 🙂

Leave a Reply

