Book Review – Ruined – S. Pratt

They say you should never review a book you didn’t finish. I agree with them. So I keep at it, and sometimes, surprising most times, I find that I will find the book’s saving grace. So I read on.

With a start like that you wonder what kind of book I’m reviewing right? Well, Ruined was a weird one for me… and while my review might not be favorable, there’s a huge caveat that I think you should know about. But first, what is the book about?

Bailey is in love with a man, Angel. She’s only ever been in love with Angel, but they can’t be together. And since he’s asked her to move on, she tries to. She meets Carron and she’s lucky, because Carron is the sweetest man ever. He cares for her, he loves her, he protects her. But Carron doesn’t understand her. See, Bailey is hiding a secret. Carron knows there’s a secret, he just doesn’t know what it is. And frankly, he doesn’t care much, because he loves Bailey and all he wants is to make her happy. Unfortunately Bailey is anything but. She needs Angel, and so her affair with him continues behind Carron’s back.

I’ve been told that a lot of readers and reviewers avoid books with characters who cheat. I personally don’t. So long as there’s a good story, I’m on board. Then I met Bailey. I’m not sure I’ve loathed a character more. It wasn’t that she cheated, per se, it was how she did it and to whom she did it to. Carron was such a good guy… and that’s even an understatement. He was incredibly patient and loving. Yet selfish Bailey didn’t care. Thing is, the book is written in first person present tense. And reading Bailey’s thoughts was the most annoying thing ever. She was so incredibly selfish, arrggh! Moving on…

The more I think about how extremely bad Bailey was, the more I realize how extremely good Carron was. I don’t like when characters are black or white. Maybe Bailey had a good side but I’m hard-pressed to remember what it was. And on the other hand, I just don’t believe any man, anybody like Carron exists. But this is fiction, so I guess I’ll let it slide.

The other thing is, we don’t know who Angel is. Angel and Bailey love each other but they can’t be together and it’s not explained why. We get glimpses of her past with Angel and its really anyone’s guess who he is. To be honest if it wasn’t for the mystery I would have quit the book early on. I didn’t quite enjoy the first person present tense (not that I usually don’t, but I just didn’t in this case), Bailey’s thoughts annoyed me and I found myself rolling my eyes more often that not. Yet I read on, partly for the reasons in paragraph one of my review, but mostly because I was still dying to know who Angel was.

I thought I had a good idea of Angel’s identity, but then the last few chapters happen and I think, what?! So I hurriedly go back to previous chapters, I’d skimmed quite a bit… and I think WOW, I did not see that coming! And I really didn’t, and it got me wondering why I didn’t. Suffice to say, the author tricked me and kudos to her 🙂

So I’ll end by saying this, Bailey might not annoy you as much. You might understand why she did what she did. You might love the writing style and just like me, you might love the surprise. I loved that the end shocked me and because of that… I’m not sure how to rate it…

3 stars…. I think…

Amazon Buy Link – Ruined by S. Pratt

cover

Finally I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, New Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Book Review – Ruined – S. Pratt

  1. April White says:

    I agree with you that Bailey annoyed the heck out of me the head was such a shocker it made up for a lot I never would hae thought that in the end to be honest I thought it was the teacher , but she did suprise the readers with this one

  2. Kelly says:

    I read the reviews for this book and decided I had NO interest in reading this book because of the heroine, however I did buy and plan to read Angels book because that actually interested me. His story/side seemed the better read because I don’t have to be in the heroines head and her selfishness!

  3. I would read Ruining Angel. His POV does give you a better perspective of the story. I too thought it was a teacher up to the end of Ruined and then BAM! Right between the eyes 🙂

Leave a Reply

