Book Review + Giveaway – Shooting Scars (Artists Trilogy #2) – Karina Halle

Can you say adrenaline rush?! If there’s one book that should be made into a movie, this is it! High speed car chases, Mexican Cartels… lord! Karina Halle… well done!It’s not easy for an author to follow up an extremely good book with an equally good one…. but guess what? This one was even better! Yes, it’s going into my favorites of 2013, no question.

Warning: If you haven’t read book #1, Sins and Needles, this is where you stop, 1-click, read, then come back ๐Ÿ™‚

So Shooting Scars begins right where Sins and Needles left off. Javier has Ellie and he intends to keep her. Ellie has no choice. To keep Camden and his family alive, she has to go wherever Javier wants her to go. But what exactly is Javier’s deal? What does he want with Ellie?

I was trapped with a man who would either love me or kill me. There was no middle ground with Javier Bernal.

If book #1 was all about getting to know the sexy and sweet Camden, book #2 is all about the sexy and scary Javier. And while what he does for a living is completely horrid, I couldn’t help but think of him as an anti-hero. I definitely love my anti-heroes and he was no different. He’s crazy, boy is he crazy! But we got glimpses of vulnerabilty that totally endeared me to him.

“I told you that you broke me when you left. And you did. I’m not lying to you.”

“You always lie.”

“No. Not now.”

And while I said that we get to know Javier, the book is actually written in dual POVs, Ellie’s and Camden’s. So fans of Camden, don’t despair. He was there the entire time. And he may have gotten even sweeter. The way he fights for Ellie…

She really was the only one I truly, drowning in my passion, loved. Even at her worst, she made me want to be a better man. To be good enough for the both of us.

I’d said in my review of Sins and Needles that this would be one of the best love triangles and it was. Yes, Javier is just a bit off… ok maybe a lot. He has all this need for revenge but I do believe that he loves Ellie in his own twisted way. But there’s no way he could compete with Camden. Camden’s love for Ellie is the kind poets write sonnets about.

I’d be there no matter what she chose, even if she wanted another lover, another life. I would still be there when she fell. When she wanted to run. When she wanted to come home.

God what a crazy ride! My review concentrates on the love angle because there’s no way I could write about everything else without giving it away. Betrayal, lust, love… suspense. I feel like the suspense heightened in this one. It was so well written you couldn’t predict it if you tried!

And other than the superb suspense we have the awesome characterization. I absolutely love characters that straddle the fence between good and evil. Ellie is definitely one of my favorite female characters. We watch her fight to be good. To be what Camden needs. To move away from Javiar and all the trappings of the life she was forced into… we see her make mistakes, we see her struggle and I can’t wait to see her win. Because she has to win. Yes I’m that invested! ๐Ÿ™‚

At the end, I read the book ridiculously slowly as I didn’t want to see it end. And while I knew I’d read anything Karina Halle writes, I wondered just how she would keep me waiting for the next book. Would I love the cliffhanger? Would I throw my kindle against the wall, would I scream? Turns out I was left near speechless…. Yes, there are even bigger things to come… and I for one can’t wait!

5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link – Shooting Scars by Karina Halle

shootin scars

Finally I’d like to thank Grand Central Publishing for providing this ARC for my review.

RELEASE GIVEAWAY

karina halle giveaway

Two kindle copies of Shooting Scars are up for grabs! They will be gifted to the winners once the book goes live on Amazon.com. Expected publication date is August 20th.

Click on a Rafflecopter giveawayย to enter! Good luck!

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Book Review + Giveaway – Shooting Scars (Artists Trilogy #2) – Karina Halle

  1. Suzanne says:

    Great review! Cant wait to get started on Shooting Scars and hear more about Javier ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Bernadeth says:

    Thank you for the Giveaway!I am sooo hook into Eit at the moment!Love it!

  3. Cindy says:

    I don’t have a favorite yet.

  4. cindy says:

    I haven’t read any books by her yet.

  5. Jennie says:

    I can’t wait to read this book…this is the only series I’ve read of Karina but it’s amazIng!!!

  6. kp says:

    This is a new to me author!!! Can’t wait to start reading this series!

  7. Kim M. says:

    This is a new author for me but looks like one I’m really going to enjoy! Excited to read the series!

  8. Pam says:

    I’ve only read the Experiment in Terror series and I love it…especially the books in Dex’s POV.

  9. Kim P says:

    I love Sins & Needles and Camden! I’m looking forward to the next book!

  10. Mary Mooney says:

    I haven’t had the pleasure of reading any of her books yet. They are on my TBR list and can’t wait to read her stuff.

  11. Diana Doan says:

    I’m ashamed to say that I haven’t read any of Karina Halle’s books yet, but they’re on my TBR list. I look forward to reading them.

  12. I don’t have a favorite yet

  13. Carrie Jones says:

    Thanks for the great giveaway. My favorite Karina series is EIT but I also haven’t read The Devil’s Metal yet. The Artist trilogy is a very close second to EIT.

  14. Janice says:

    Great review!!!! #TeamCamdenFTW! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Deb Liu says:

    Have not read any of her books yet. Thanks for the giveaway.

  16. Jenn McElroy says:

    Haven’t read anything by Karina Halle, but Sins & Needles is waiting patiently on my Kindle! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. damaris says:

    Sins & Needles for me. I just love that characters and the world. The story is very original – there’s nothing out there that’s like it. Thanks for the giveaway.

  18. Shelly F. says:

    I loved Sins and Needles and On Every Street! Getting a glimpse on Ellie and Javier’s story had me sprung! I do love me some Camden tho but damn Javier is that bad boy I love!

  19. Bobbie Bohn says:

    Thank you for the Giveaway!

  20. kimlrkim says:

    So far I have only read her Sins and Needles series and I am hooked. Look forward to reading more of her work in the future. Thank you for the giveaway.

  21. Kat P. says:

    Karina Halle is one of my favorite authors. Everything she writes is pure golden. Amazing giveaway cant wait for more Camden.

  22. Bennita says:

    I just finished On Every Street and Sins and Needles. This is an awesome series. I just spazzed out when I realized this book wasn’t available yet. I seriously cannot wait. I love all of the characters, especially Ellie and Javier.

  23. Darci Laffin says:

    I’ve only read Sins and Needles, which I loved, and On Every Street (and I really don’t like Javier). I have the first Experiment in Terror book on my Kindle, but I haven’t read it yet. I’ve heard it’s a very addictive series!

  24. Stephanie says:

    My favorite is Sins and Needles, although, I have a feeling that Shooting Scars will be my new fave!

  25. Catherine says:

    Sins and Needles

  26. Janet says:

    I have read first experiment terror series from karina Halle and it was addictive. I am looking foward to reading shooting scars. And thank u 4 the giveaway!!!

  27. Jennifer says:

    I don’t have a favorite yet, but I hope to soon!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. Pingback: Book Review + + Excerpt + Giveaway – Bold Tricks (The Artists Trilogy #3) – Karina Halle | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

