Book Review – Still – Ann Mayburn

She wanted the submission of the alpha male and, Callahan was all that and more.

So I had two major reasons as to why I really wanted to read this book. First, one of my favorite bloggers, Michelle, had told me of her love for books involving heroes with PTSD. In her words, “no man is more protective, and gentle, than one who knows suffering..” How could I resist that?! Second, I’ve only read two femdom books and I was always curious to read more. So when I found a book that combined the two, I was more than curious.

Still is the story of Wyatt and Michelle. They served together in Afghanistan and were close; Wyatt a Gunnery Sergeant and Michelle a doctor. A tragedy happens that results to them re-entering civilian life. But the tragedy hits Wyatt most and he’s left trying to cope with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. When they finally see each other again, Michelle reveals that she’s a dominatrix and that she’d like Wyatt to be her submissive. Wyatt, being the alpha male that he is, is sure he can’t do it, but an incident has him very inclined to try.

I loved the premise of this book. Other than my two reasons for reading it, I also thought the idea of a woman dominating an alpha male, one with PTSD I might add, would be interesting. While the concept remained interesting for me, the delivery missed the mark. I will say that I know nothing about femdom. Again, I’ve only read 2 books, both 4.5-5 star reads for me, so I wanted to try more. But most of the things Michelle said felt like they came from a guy’s mouth… again, what do I know? I wondered how she’d dominate him, especially a guy this alpha, and while she was dominant, I just felt like he did the whole submissive bit for her. I didn’t feel like he was actually submissive.

However, the book is written by an Army wife who, having spoken to others with husbands dealing with PTSD, came up with the idea. So again, having no first hand knowledge about PTSD, femdom, etc… I don’t think I’m authoritative enough to say where this book lies. Something I do know about is steamy scenes done good… and this one had good ones. I would have loved it more if Michelle didn’t insist on Wyatt calling her ‘Domina’ which killed it a bit for me. But other than that, some were really good 😉 And for that… and a concept that intrigued me…

3 stars.

Amazon Buy Link – Still by Ann Mayburn

still

Finally I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review – Still – Ann Mayburn

  1. Michelle says:

    Jessy,
    I’m so glad you took a chance on “Still!” Thanks so much for reading and reviewing it.
    Hugs,
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

