Book Review – Fear of Falling – SL Jennings

I absolutely loved SL Jenning’s The Dark Prince and I was really in the mood for more Paranormal Romance from her. So when I read that the next book would be New Adult, I have to admit I was a bit… conflicted. So why did I still sign up for an advance copy? Mostly because I was still riding the high that was The Dark Prince and wanted more of SL Jennings, however which way I could get her. And Fear of Falling it was.

This is the story of Kami Duvall. At 23 years old, Kami has seen more of the ugly side of life than many see in a lifetime. And as a result she’s convinced she’s incapable of love; receiving it and giving it. After yet another failed romance, Kami heads to a bar to drown her sorrows. There she meets the bartender. A sexy-as-hell, tattooed bartender called Blaine. The attraction is instant.

I already knew Kami was special. I knew she was unlike anyone I had ever met since the day she came into Dive, blinking away tears and in search of an escape. I knew she was running then. And thankfully , she had run straight to me. I was hell-bent on making it so she never felt the need to run again.

But Kami, scared of the whatever it is between then, does what she does best, she runs.

The subject matter in this one is a tough one. It deals with the trauma that comes with emotional and physical abuse…. and to some extent mental illness and sexual abuse. I initially read this almost as a spectator in a match. I felt for Kami, I cheered her on, but I wasn’t as invested. But then two things happened. One, I read somewhere that the book is inspired by true events, and two, I had a discussion with a friend about similar tragic events. That made me see this story in a new light. That and the fact that I hadn’t even reached the part of the story where the hurt and the suffering literally pours out of the pages.

Such heartbreak and torment and sometimes I wondered if there was any hope left. The light in this dark tale was Blaine. I really wondered if men like him exist in real life. He fought for Kami… even when she was hurtful… and when he paused to question why he was fighting so hard for her, he would blame himself for even questioning it. Seriously, he was a knight. A tattooed pierced knight in shining armour.

“I’m standing here, wondering how the hell a girl so beautiful could hold so much sadness in her gorgeous green eyes. And I’m asking myself why I want- no – why I need to know what’s made her so sad. And what I can do to take away every ounce of that sadness.

I was a bit afraid for Blaine to be honest. I felt like he was trying too hard to save Kami.

Kami said she couldn’t be saved, but I still needed to save her. She said she was broken, but I desperately wanted to fix her. She claimed she was unlovable, but… shit… I needed to love her.

In my head I kept revisiting my Psych 101 class thinking that this could never be good. But in the end… an incredibly heartfelt story.

“The storm doesn’t last forever. It can scare you; it can shake you to your core. But it never lasts. The rain subsides, the thunder dies, and the winds calm to a soft whisper. And that moment after the storm clouds pass, when all is silent and still, you find peace. Quiet, gentle peace.”

3.75 stars.

Amazon Buy Link: Will be added as soon as the book goes live (18th July)

fear of falling

Finally I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, New Adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

