Rants and Raves – Of Dark Erotica…

Last week I found out that a lot of people have never heard of my favorite Priest – Søren from The Original Sinners Series by Tiffany Reisz. I was honestly surprised. I guess I’d assumed that if you’ve subscribed to my blog then you like dark(er) erotica… and the Original Sinners is a favorite so I just… sigh… all these assumptions!

Anyway, to be honest I’m not sure if everyone considers The Original Sinners as dark erotica… consent is huge with the characters in the series… but it deals with taboo topics (namely the Catholic Priest Søren and his lover and submissive, Nora.) Also the BDSM is heavy so again, I call it dark erotica. This series is simply brilliant. It’s so witty, so well written, so clever, that even though the subject matter might make some squeamish, I highly recommend it to all erotica/erotic romance lovers.

SIRENangelprincemistress

But what exactly is dark erotica?

scared and horny

That basically sums up dark erotica 🙂 The genre mostly deals with taboo topics, dubious consent, enforced sexual submission, graphic violence, the psychology of ownership… well you get the drift. The books come with a warning… and speaking of warnings, I wrote a rant on heeding them… click here to check that out.

My first foray into the taboo came in the form of two books, a duet; Captive in the Dark and its sequel; Seduced in the Dark. Think kidnapping, Stockholm Syndrome and sexual slavery. I think I read the entire book with my jaw on the ground. But what surprised me most is how much I felt for the ‘bad guy’. Seriously, any author that makes me feel that much for a guy who did what this guy did, deserves a medal!

captiveseduced

There is a 3rd book, The Epilogue, which I’ll not include in this post because it was not dark erotica. Anyway, I thought about these two books for months! I decided to search for other books in this genre… and that’s how my love for the genre (and my blog) begun.

I then came across Kitty Thomas. Everyone who reads dark erotica knows, or should know Kitty Thomas. Her book, Comfort Food… wow! As with the Dark Duet, Comfort Food also deals with Stockholm Syndrome. But to me while there was Stockholm Syndrome involved, I thought it had more to do with Pavlovian Conditioning. “As part of his conditioning methods, her captor refuses to speak to her, knowing how much she craves human contact. He’s far too beautiful to be a monster. Combined with his lack of violence toward her, this has her walking a fine line at the edge of sanity. Comfort Food explores what happens when all expectations of pleasure and pain are turned upside down, as whips become comfort and chicken soup becomes punishment.” Yeah, It seriously did a number on me. 

comfort food

In my search, I came across Megan Hart. And by now you know that her book, Broken, is my favorite book ever! Again with Megan Hart, I’m not sure whether to call her books dark erotica. In Broken for example, there is a love story, it just deals with very heavy subject matter. I was on holiday with my boyfriend when I read the book and I cried so much he was actually scared!

somebody sedate me <- me

But seriously, read Broken. Seriously.

broken megan hart 2

On the subject of dark books that fall somewhere just outside of Dark Erotica, you’ll find another favorite. The Consequences Series by Aleatha Romig. These books are dark and she classified them as dark romance. Thing is, while there is dubious consent and graphic violence, this is not erotica. The sex scenes are not graphic at all and the story, to me, was more a psycho thriller. Again, Kidnapping and Stockholm Syndrome are involved… but in this one there is an incredibly detailed reason for the kidnapping. I finished the first book, Consequences, in the middle of the night and till today, that is the fastest I’ve bought a sequel (Truth). The cliffhanger on Consequences is a killer! I’ve never felt so slow in my life. I went from confused to re-reading the chapter to mind blown in a span of 2 minutes!

confusion wheres the story        to           barney-mind-blown

Definitely recommended and seriously… be ready! Total mind fuck!

consequencestruth

And if you’re looking for another, try the Confessions Collection by Leila DeSint. This one deals with (amongst other things) Multiple Personality Disorder… or should I say Dissociative identity disorder. There are scenes in that book that you will not see coming… and I wish I could explain how brilliant they are. Click on the cover below to read my review (where I try to explain…)

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00016]

So why do I love Dark Erotica? There is no other genre that leaves me with such a mix of emotions. Confusion, hurt, disgust (yes)… and in one word, these stories are unforgettable. The characters will stay with you… and you’ll find yourself rooting for these unlikely couples….

I feel as though I can handle most topics and some books in this genre have definitely scared me… but if there’s anything like the good kind of scared, then this is it. The Prince (Book #3 Original Sinners Series by Tiffany Reisz) was a bit more scary to me than the rest in the series. I get sadism, I mean I don’t, but you know, I kinda do. But the kind of sadism detailed in The Prince had me reading the book with this face

Colin_Farrel-Disgusted

But closely followed by

so-hot

Yup! Erotica is sex plus fear…. famous words by a famous fictional erotica author (Nora Sutherlin – The Original Sinners) 🙂

Other books that prove this? The Erotic Dark by Nina Lane. She finds herself in a situation where she has to submit to three men… with three very different personalities. I was a bit uncomfortable with the humiliation detailed in that book but in the end, brilliant brilliant writing. And in that vein we’ll add The Tied Man by Tabitha McGowan… ok this one is HEAVY folks. Some scenes were hard to take, even for me… and… yes… a definite 5 star read that comes highly highly recommended.

erotictied

My newest discovery is Skye Warren. I’ve only read Wanderlust so far (Stockholm syndrome which by now you should know I have a thing for!) Wanderlust is one of my favorite books of 2013… and in this one, we get a beautiful, unlikely, romance story… of all the ones I’ve added here, I’d suggest this one if you are new to the genre and want to give it a try.

wanderlust

I have a few more in my TBR awaiting me. And yes, I’m very scared….. and aroused 🙂

break her escape from paradise ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? the lonely

This entry was posted in Dark Erotica, Dark Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rants and Raves – Of Dark Erotica…

  1. StacyHgg says:

    Great post!!! I love these dark reads! I was utterly devastated by The Tied Man but I LOVED it!!! I recommend it to anyone who likes dark reads 😉

  2. Margaret says:

    Some of my favourite books here too. We have very similar reading tastes!!! 🙂

  3. jeanniezelos says:

    I’ve read most of these too – loved the sinners series ( have just had the mistress for review and its fantastic) haven’t read that megan hart one but have just had one of hers for reveiw ( forget the name ) and loved it. the lonely – you’ll love that jessy, its one that stayed with me for ages 🙂

  4. Bennita says:

    For anyone who hasn’t read Dark Erotica, you are missing some of the best books out there. I’ve never read this genre until Jesse introduced me to it and they are some of the most unforgettable books and I found myself still thinking about them weeks later and recommending them to friends. These books bring out such a spectrum of emotions and make you feel for characters you want to hate. I love to be shocked and this genre will definitely make you reconsider what you find acceptable and make you reevaluate your morals.

  5. Beth says:

    Escape From Paradise is great. I read it last week and highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

