Book Review – If I Were You (Inside Out #1) – Lisa Renee Jones

Why did I wait so long to read this?! Ok, I know the answer – since it was compared to Fifty Shades of Grey, I was a bit apprehensive of another similar story, but then I was in a bit of a book slump and wondered why not meet another sexy billionaire?! What I encountered was so much more… an amazing mix of Erotic Romance and Romantic Suspense, and I definitely regret waiting.

Sara’s friend Ella buys a storage unit. Just like in Storage Wars, if the rent is not paid for a storage locker, it is auctioned off. The person who buys it can then decide on what to do with the stuff and in this case, Ella intends to sell the stuff for profit. In this particular storage unit, Ella discovers journals which detail the life, and in particular, sex life of the writer, Rebecca. Out of the blue, Ella’s boyfriend proposes and whisks her off to Paris. Sara becomes the new owner of the storage unit, and the journals.

Unable to stop herself, Sara starts reading them and begins to fear that Rebecca’s disappearance is part of something more sinister. She wonders if the man mentioned in the diaries, a Dom with a penchant for sharing, could be responsible. As a school teacher, Sara has the entire summer off and decides to use it to find Rebecca. And this is how she finds herself thrown into a world she’s always wanted but never expected to belong to. Art, wine, and rich men. And two in particular catch her interest. Mark – a gallery owner and Rebecca’s boss-, and Chris – a world renowned painter.

Sara finds herself aroused by the idea of bondage and submission as detailed out in Rebecca’s journals. But shes fought really hard to never be under the control of a man. So when she finds herself attracted to the control that these two men, Mark and Chris, wield, she wants nothing more than to run.

There’s a reason I don’t date much: I’m horrible at it. I get shy and I pick the wrong men, who use both of those very things against me. Dominant, controlling men, who seem to turn me on in the bedroom and off in real life.

But because of her desire to uncover Rebecca’s whereabouts, and her increasing attraction to the men, she stays. The steam rises gradually as Sara decides to pursue whatever it is between Chris and her.

I am not blind to what I see in the depths of his green eyes, what I’ve missed until now but sensed. He is as damaged as I am.

But with Mark in the picture, can it ever be just the two of them?

“Mark wants to fuck you, Sara, and I don’t share. You’re with me or you’re not. Decide now…. damn it Sara, say what I want to hear. Tell me you don’t want him.”

I was seriously cheering the entire time. I love a good love triangle and this one has the potential of being a really good one! I also loved learning more about these characters. Sara was a likeable heroine, tortured background but incredibly strong and passionate. I loved the glimpses we got of Chris. Though there’s still much more to uncover about him, I loved that he was strong and in control, and in other times just vulnerable…

“This ‘crazy’ thing you’re making me feel is the best crazy I’ve felt in a long time. I’m not ready to let go of you. I don’t know what you’re doing to me, Sara, but please… don’t stop.”

Sigh.. yes, I love Chris. Mark is still an enigma though. And though Sara believes him to be the man in Rebecca’s journals, I loved that I was never fully convinced. That I still believed the truth to be more complicated. I also loved that the truths revealed about Chris were unexpected. Now to wait and see if Sara can handle it, and not just that, but the entire world she now finds herself in.

The book ends on a massive cliffhanger and I can only thank my previous ignorance of waiting so long to read the book because this means I already have book #2.

4.5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link: If I Were You by Lisa Renee Jones

if i were you

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Review – If I Were You (Inside Out #1) – Lisa Renee Jones

  1. Anonymous says:

    Chris Merit is my dream man!

  2. Anonymous says:

    I liked this book, but loved Being Me. Chris Merit is my dream guy!

  3. Pingback: Book Review – Being Me (Inside Out #2) – Lisa Renee Jones | Jessy's Book Club

  4. Pingback: Book Review – Escaping Reality (The Secret Life of Amy Bensen #1) – Lisa Renee Jones | Jessy's Book Club

  5. Pingback: Book Review – Master Undone (Inside Out #2.5) – Lisa Renee Jones | Jessy's Book Club

  6. Pingback: Book Review – Revealing Us (Inside Out #3) – Lisa Renee Jones | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

