Book Review – Burn (Songs of Submission #5) – CD Reiss

I’m not sure what to do with myself now that I have to wait until the next installment! Remember these cannot be read as standalones. Click to read my reviews for Beg #1, Tease #2, Submit #3 and Control #4.

So Monica has left Jonathan. Everyone whispers about Jonathan’s sexual predilections and it’s only going to get worse if the song Monica wrote is released. Monica can’t stand the thought of everyone knowing that she’s Jonathan’s submissive. And though she’s fallen in love with him, she knows what being with him will do to her career and she’s worked too hard to let that happen.

Jonathan however is convinced Monica will come back. So he sends her messages. Every morning at 9am. From “You belong with me” to “It’s going to rain“. He makes sure she starts her day thinking about him.

He was so confident I was coming back. All he had to do was wait. It made me crazy. I wrote songs about how crazy he made me, scrawled on the back of napkins or on my forearm while I blitzed down the freeway. I wrote verses about his eyes and choruses on his voice. I wanted to exorcise him through music, but I feared I was doing nothing more than keeping the burn in my belly alive.

While it’s clear that Jonathan wants Monica back, he also wants commitment. See his ex-wife walked out on him… and though he thought he would never feel that deeply for another woman, he already has. And the thought of Monica walking away from him again is impossible to bear. So she has to come back. And when she does, she has to fully commit, knowing that people will talk, knowing what it will do to her music… she has to fully commit. And until she does… he enforces a no touching rule.

“Touch me, Jonathan. Please.”

“Commit yourself to me,” he said.

“Oh, God. Don’t-”

“Commit. Yourself. To. Me.” He said softly and firmly, half whisper, half scream.

“I’m yours. Touch me.”

“You don’t even know what you’re promising… I can’t watch you walk away again. If you commit yourself, you’re mine. You will set the limits and I will honor them. You will be exclusive to me. You will submit yourself to me sexually. Completely.”

The sexual tension in this one… geez! Not fair to me as a reader… I was as frustrated as Monica was! 🙂 But when it finally all comes together… definitely worth the wait…

songs burn

Seriously HOT! And let’s not forget the banter that I absolutely love… that makes this series the best I’ve read in a while…

We’re left with another cliffhanger and more questions. Why does Jessica all of a sudden want Jonathan back? Who’s responsible for what happened to Kevin? Will this new found commitment withstand the tests?

4.5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link: Burn by CD Reiss

burn sos

Finally I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Review – Burn (Songs of Submission #5) – CD Reiss

  1. Muriel says:

    Hi Jessy,
    Humm, all those reviews make me want to read this serie so badly, but I’ve just begun “The Siren”, so…
    Did you read Jonathan’s POV too (in Songs of Dominance – I saw that on Goodreads) ? I don’t realy understand the reading order for this one… maybe you could help ?
    Ps : sorry for my bad english, I’m still french but I’m learning 😉

    • I LOVE this series so I highly recommend it! The songs of Submission series is in Monica’s POV – Beg, Tease, Submit, Control, Burn (even though there’re 3 more to come)…. and they’re all about her and Jonathan.

      The Songs of Dominance are much much shorter and are in Jonathan’s POV but are about the two women who came before Monica (Jessica and Sharon)…

      Having not read Songs of Dominance (and from what I get are only there to help us understand Jonathan more), I can’t say much about them… but the Songs of Submission series is a must read 🙂

  2. Sharon says:

    Anxiously awaiting the 3rd of the This Man Trilogy. Have thoroughly enjoyed the 2 prior books and am (again) rereading in anticipation of release.

  3. Pingback: Blog Tour: Bonus Scene + Giveaway – Beg (Songs of Submission #1) – CD Reiss | Jessy's Book Club

  4. Pingback: Exclusive Teaser/Excerpt + Giveaway – Sing (Songs of Submission #7) – CD Reiss | Jessy's Book Club

  5. Pingback: Book Review – Sing (Songs of Submission #7) – CD Reiss | Jessy's Book Club

  6. Pingback: Favorite Book Series Giveaway: Songs of Submission Series by CD Reiss | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

