Book Review – Epilogue (The Dark Duet #3) – CJ Roberts

I’ve said it enough but I’ll say it again… The Dark Duet Series is brilliant! It was my first foray into the taboo… and it shocked me… but more than that it amazed me. I loved Captive in the Dark (Book #1) but Seduced in the Dark (Book #2) blew me away. It had the right mix of sexy, taboo, suspense… it was just brilliant. So when I heard that a third book was in the works, I rejoiced along with everyone else.

Epilogue is basically the continuation of Caleb and Livvie’s story. Between them meeting again at the Paseo De Colon, to their Happily Ever After. And it is told in Caleb’s POV…. in fact, it is written by Caleb… and who can resist that?! Initially I was convinced I didn’t need more since I loved the conclusion of Seduced in the Dark… turns out I did.

I’m writing this because you begged. You know how I love the begging. In fact, you probably know too many things and know them far too well.

Yes we all know Caleb and Livvie’s story. Saying that it was an unlikely romance is probably the understatement of the year. But how much did we love to see this sadistic man fall in love with his sweet captive?! But Caleb insists that Livvie was too kind in the retelling of their story… at least the end of it… and so we get his version of events. Not all, just what happened after he found her again.

I wondered how fast it took for Livvie to forgive Caleb. Not only for kidnapping her and abusing her, mostly for leaving her after she fell in love with him. I wondered if Stockholm Syndrome ever wears off… well… Livvie was clearly not the same person left by Caleb at the Mexican Border. In fact I felt as if Livvie was a different person altogether. The Livvie I remember (and I read the first two books a long time ago to remember in detail) but I remembered her more demure… courageous yes, but not this sassy person we meet in Epilogue. But I loved that she made Caleb grovel… he deserved that 🙂

“I know. I don’t expect you to trust me, but, Livvie, I would never do anything to hurt you again. Just give me a chance to prove it. How can I prove it to you?”

I wondered how much Caleb could change. I had wondered that while reading Seduced in the Dark, but I was just so happy for them I didn’t question it much. Which is why I just had to read Epilogue… and I loved that the forgiving did not happen overnight, that Caleb’s change was also a process…

“Everything is in the process of becoming something else. It’s the law of change.” I briefly kissed Livvie’s eyelids before she could open them. “I’m in the process of becoming something else, Livvie. I hope it;s something good, something far removed from the monster you knew.”

I guess the question I had was whether a leopard could change its spots. And I wondered whether I’d really want Caleb to change. After all, we all fell in love with him the way he was. At least I did 🙂 But I hurt for him when he tried so hard to be a good man for Livvie…

I softened toward her. I didn’t want to hurt her. I loved her. I didn’t know how to do it like normal people. I didn’t know how to tell her how scared I was. I pressed my forehead to the back of her neck and tried. “Tell me I don’t deserve you. Tell me all the things I already know.”

I just hurt for Caleb… so many wrongs done to him, so many things that turned him into who he was… but him finding Livvie’s love… finding forgiveness and happiness… such a joy to read! All in all I enjoyed seeing what led them to the happiness at the end of Seduced in the Dark. I think I wished for more… more… something… the something that was there in Seduced in the Dark (which remains one of my favorite books… have you seen how many times I’ve mentioned it in this post?!) Maybe more ‘darkness’… more ‘taboo’… I’m not sure. But if I was to be honest with myself, it was never going to be that kind of book. They had done it all in the previous books… this was more for Caleb to find his light… and that he did.

4.5 stars.

Amazon Buy Link: Epilogue (The Dark Duet) by CJ Roberts

epilogie dark duet

This entry was posted in Dark Erotica, Dark Romance, Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review – Epilogue (The Dark Duet #3) – CJ Roberts

  1. Pingback: Book Review – The Tied Man – Tabitha McGowan | Jessy's Book Club

  2. Pingback: Rants and Raves – Of Dark Erotica… | Jessy's Book Club

  3. Pingback: Book Review – Big Sky – Kitty Thomas | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

