Rants and Raves – Of Debut Authors, Promotion and Facebook…

Today I’m neither ranting nor raving… Hmm… I should probably change the name of this page… no… I’ll rave about something at the end of the post 🙂

So I write today’s post because I’m unsure about something. I get A LOT of emails on Facebook by debut authors asking me to post their page on my page so that they can build up a fan base. Well and good except for one thing, I’m unsure about the whole thing… See, there are two kinds of debut authors…

First there’s the author who just released a book. This kind of author I am more than willing to promote… I check on amazon or goodreads and if the book sounds like the kind of book I’d enjoy, then I’m happy to post it on my page with the disclaimer that I haven’t read it yet, but it sounds interesting… If it’s a genre that I’m not interested in, then I’ll not post it.

Then there’s the other kind of author who is in the process of writing her first book and wants to build up a fan base. That author’s email mostly reads like this,

“Hi Jessy, I’m currently writing my first book and if I get to 100 likes, I’ll release a teaser.”

I’m usually unsure of what to do with such emails. On the one hand I’m thinking, way to go! Live your dream… and you know… other encouraging things. But on the other hand I’m wondering why I would, without any indication as to what your book is about, promote your page? If the first teaser will only come at 100 likes… what will your followers in the meantime be following? Ok, maybe the blurb will get you going…  but sometimes even that is not clear… or not there in the first place. I just don’t get it… and if you do, please enlighten me.

Thing is, I’m trying to recommend books that I’ve read and loved. I’m happiest when people buy a book because they trust my recommendation. Now if I start flooding my Facebook page (or my blog for that matter) with books I haven’t read yet, I feel like I’ll lose whatever credibility I have.

I get authors willing to pay to get a spotlight on my blog… and as tempting as that is, I just want to read a good book, and if I love it, I’ll recommend it far and wide. If I don’t, I’ll write an honest review and move on.

But seeing as this is a Rants and Raves post, I’ll end by raving about books that deserve all the spotlight I could give them. I’m doing this selfishly because I absolutely loved these books and I’d like more people to read them… so that I can find people to discuss them with 🙂

***

Anything by Tessa Bailey. She writes the best dirty talking alpha males! I absolutely love them! The kind that make you blush as you fan yourself… recommended to anyone who loves Kristen Ashley’s heroes 😉

They are all stand alone novels and I’m just about to start the 3rd! Read my review for Protecting What’s His and for His Risk to Take or click on the covers here to buy from amazon.

protectinghis riskofficer off

***

CD Reiss is my newest favorite author! I read all 5 books in the Songs of Submission series in 3 days. Then I finally found out what a book hangover is… I could not bring myself to read another book! Recommended to anyone who loves witty heroines, clever banter and sexy dominant men 😉

They are structured as episodes and have cliffhangers… to avoid crying out your frustration at the end, you can buy book 1 to 3 as a sequence which doesn’t have a cliffhanger… per se…

Read my reviews for BegTease and Submit or click on the covers to buy from amazon.

NB: Beg (Book #1) is still free on amazon!

songs sequence onebegteasesubmit

***

Confessions Collection Vol. 1 by Leila DeSint. Recommended to Dark Erotica fans… this one had such crazy twists… I absolutely need to discuss them!

The series is also structured in episodes but if you’re as impatient as I am, you can buy Volume 1 which is made up of 9 episodes.

Read my review for Volume 1 or click on the cover to buy from amazon.

NB: Confessions of a Whore, Book #1, is still free on amazon!

confessionsconfessions 1confessions 2confessions 3confessions 4confessions 5confessions 6confessions 7confessions 8confessions 9

***

And there’s that 🙂 feel free to comment on what you think about today’s topic… in the meantime I’m off to my reading cave! xx

This entry was posted in Dark Erotica, Dark Romance, Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rants and Raves – Of Debut Authors, Promotion and Facebook…

  1. tdhassett says:

    I think taking the high road is the way to go. If you haven’t read the book or at least been intrigued by the blurb then you probably don’t want to spotlight or imply you like the story. And I say this as a newly released author so I know I am sort of shooting my own efforts in the foot.

  2. Sparks says:

    I think that is the right thing to do. One of the reasons I love your blog is because you give it to me straight. Don’t let others compromise your honesty. 😊

    • I won’t! 🙂 I was just feeling guilty because some authors email me more than once with the tease thing… thought I should finally get somebody else’s thoughts on it..

  3. Michelle says:

    Jessy.
    I agree with you, too. I don’t have a book review blog, per se, but I do write reviews. Unless an author has a published book, that we have read, how will we know whether we want to promote her/him, or not?

    The internet already offers free publicity, but asking for additional space, to “advertise” a book that that is unpublished, is putting the cart before the horse. My suggestion, is to either finish the book, or offer some short stories as “teasers,” so bloggers/, reviewers and readers, a sense of what to expect.

    I take my reviews very seriously, because it is my honest opinion. I cannot give an opinion, on something that does not exist.
    ~Michelle

Leave a Reply

