Blog Tour: Book Review + Q&A + Giveaway – Unbeautifully (undeniable #2) – Madeline Sheehan

“All scars tell a story… mine tell the story of how I found you…”

I would never have imagined that anything could beat Deuce and Eva’s story (Undeniable, Book #1)… but this one did…. I loved EVERY minute of it!

Danny is at her Senior Prom, bored out of her mind. Due to Deuce and Eva’s problems, she and her brother Cage have been left to their own devices, which means her school work has suffered which in turn means she will not be going to University with the rest of her friends. Desperately needing to escape the disaster that is her prom, she calls for somebody to pick her up. Ripper arrives. Since her home life is also a wreck, she asks Ripper to take her anywhere but home and that’s how they find themselves at the lake, enjoying each other’s company and high as kites. The morning after, Ripper realizes he’s a dead man walking, because sleeping with Deuce’s teenage daughter can only mean one thing…

First things first, I’m not sure if reading this without having read Book #1 is advisable. On the one end this is predominantly Danny and Ripper’s story, but it also has large bits dedicated to Deuce and Eva’s story. You know, what happened between the last chapter and the epilogue of Undeniable, before everything settled down. We get to see how Deuce handled what happened to Eva in the hands of Frankie… and though incredibly heartbreaking, it was beautiful to see how they healed from that experience.

But back to Danny and Ripper. They have never really spared each other more than a moment’s thought before the night at the lake. That night changed everything. Suddenly they can’t stop thinking of each other. They can’t stop thinking about how good it felt. But mostly, they can’t stop wanting each other. Though Danny at 18 doesn’t really think of the repercussions of sleeping with her father’s right hand man, Ripper has some sense of self preservation and knows he has to be as far away from her as possible. Though physically he can maintain the distance, distancing himself emotionally fails him.

I loved the angst that accompanied their story. Ripper is 14 years older, he’s her father’s Sergeant at arms, he’s physically scarred from a torture incident… and Danny… 18 years old, the daughter of the President of the Hell’s Horsemen Motorcycle Club and a blond, blue-eyed beauty. Not the kind of coupling fairy tales are made of. But this was no fairy tale. It’s gritty, it’s violent, downright scary at times… but it’s theirs…

Ours was the furthest thing from a picture-perfect romance; it was more of a car-crash; a metal-bending, blood-splattered disaster that left no survivors, only bad memories and heartache.

But it was ours.

And because it was ours… I wouldn’t change a thing.

Ripper is used to having women… before when he was Mister Gorgeous and even after when he became scarred. Women flocked and he didn’t even think of changing it. Until Danny. Danny was different and from the get go he knew it. Being with her was just… different. She saw past the scars… she just saw him…

He felt the walls of his world start to shake and the brick began to fall… and suddenly he could breathe again when he hadn’t realized he’d been holding his breath. Breath he’d been holding for the last five years.

I can’t explain how beautiful their story was… gritty yes, heartbreaking yes… but just beautiful. It wasn’t even a case of ‘meant to be’… they couldn’t have been more world’s apart. But they just got each other… saved each other…. and best of all… not even words were needed. I loved how they communicated…. how they just looked at each other and had these silent conversations… sigh…

We existed in a world where words weren’t needed. Everything I needed to know, everything he was feeling, I could already see on his face and feel through his touch.

I can’t recommend these books enough. The characters are not perfect, they don’t pretend to be. It’s insane how far removed they are from my reality… yet I understand them, I relate… and I enjoy their stories that much more…

5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link: Unbeautifully by Madeline Sheehan

unbeautifully

Quickfire Q&A with Madeline Sheehan

Jessy: What are the highs and lows of being an author?

Madeline Sheehan: The highs:  First and foremost, be able to transfer the stories in your head into something comprehensive that others can read and enjoy.  Best high ever.  Second, readers. I can’t even describe how awesome it feels to know other people enjoy your stories.  Dream come true.

The lows: Bad reviews. They can make you second guess yourself. Backlash if you’re writing about a controversial subject. Which has the potential to hurt your feelings if you let it. And the struggle to keep your readers satisfied, to make sure they are happy with your work.

Jessy: All your heroes are Alpha Males; What features does every alpha male have to have in your book?

Madeline Sheehan: Wow. Hmmm…  Emotional strength. An alpha male, regardless of his physical prowess should radiate, courage, strength, the ability to hold his entire family and himself up even in the direst circumstances.  A caretaker. And of course, he should be well-endowed and an absolutely incredible lover.  Hah. Or maybe that’s just my opinion.

Jessy: How, where and when do you feel most creative to put pen on paper?

Madeline Sheehan: In the middle of the night. Everyone is asleep, I’m alone, its dark, its quiet, I’m at my desk with my coffee and my laptop and my imagination just comes pouring out.

Thanks MS! xx

GIVEAWAY

UnBeautifully-Coverblog

Madeline is giving away a $30 Amazon gift card. Click on a Rafflecopter giveaway to enter!

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blog Tour: Book Review + Q&A + Giveaway – Unbeautifully (undeniable #2) – Madeline Sheehan

  1. Cindy says:

    Yours are definitely a different kind of read. I will have to read this since I read Undeniable.

  2. Kelly says:

    I read Undeniable and it was great, but I read several reviews before reading the book so I was very prepared for the cheating and such in this story. I am wondering is this second book the same with a lot of cheating and back and forth between them?

    • I feel like Ripper was much different from Deuce… I wasn’t Deuce’s biggest fan, he kept going back and forth, wasn’t really fighting for Eva… in fact I thought crazy Frankie loved Eva more! But Ripper is different… he’s so much in love with Danny… yes there’s cheating but not while they’re together cheating… if that makes sense…

      • Kelly says:

        Ok I am so glad you said that about Frankie…OMG I loved him! He was a great character and was totally in love with Eva. I agree Deuce was very frustrating, a turn off to someone who loves a possessive alpha male!

      • LOL… people find me insane when I say how much I loved Frankie! He just needed a bit of help and then he’d have been my ideal fictional hero! 🙂 Ripper is definitely not Deuce… you’ll like him…

  3. I’ve almost finished Undeniable and my mates have raved about Unbeautifully being even hotter & that I will fall in love with Ripper! It’s also great to see an author soooo passionate about her books & characters. Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

  4. Kelly says:

    OMG I am probably going to be pestering you until I finish this book. I am a 1/4 of the way into it and I still hate Duece. I mean really! I mean I get it, he is going thru his own hell but seriously Eva hasn’t been thru enough! I’m not sure how much more I can take

    • I absolutely love u pestering me! I hated Deuce for most of the book! In fact I was kinda cheering for Frankie… I’m insane I know 🙂

      • Kelly says:

        I LOVE FRANKIE! I am in the middle of the book now. Eva has agreed to marry D and now I am more worried about what it going to happen with Danny and Ripper. They’re in a good place and I just know something is going to happen, obviously since you know where they are in the beginning of the book. I don’t think I can stand it. I won’t be able to finish the book until tomorrow…yikes!

      • I think I loved Unbeautifully (Danny and Ripper’s story) more! Ripper was much sweeter than Deuce 🙂

  5. Kelly says:

    Ok so I just finished it….phew that was stressful. There were some parts that I was afraid were going to go in a scary direction and I am so glad that it didn’t. But oh man what a book hangover I have. I agree I definitely love Ripper more. The other thing I loved about this book, and I am sure you will agree, I loved all the private memories Eva had about Frankie, although i thought it was strange how abruptly they stopped. The author never went back to Eva’s thoughts on what she was going thru.

  6. Pingback: Book Review – Unattainable (Undeniable #3) – Madeline Sheehan | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

