Rants and Raves – Of stuff that I love in books…

From my reviews it’s almost plain to see what kind of books will end up receiving a 4 or 5 star rating. I avoid Young Adult like the plague and to be honest I only read steamy Contemporary Romance and steamy Paranormal Romance.

So what are my must haves in a book?

Lets start with steam… I’ve read a few books that are not steamy at all and I got bored. So I now stay away from those books. I don’t want to unfairly rate a book just because it lacked steam. There’re so many reviewers out there and so I decided to stick to what I know and love. The steamier the better πŸ™‚

steam 2

Angst… God I love me some angst! I rated a few books less than a 3 because they lacked angst. They fell in love, they stayed in love, the end. Boredom personified if you ask me! I want conflict, I want pain… and a happily ever after… Β But a disclaimer.. too much pain turns me off… and I don’t mean BDSM pain πŸ˜‰ For example, I loved Broken by Megan Hart and that had me crying 60 percent of the book… I however didn’t like The Reluctant Dom by Tymber Dalton because that was just too too much for me… I was like this the entire time…

crying 2

I like just the right amount of angst and sexual tension πŸ™‚

Love triangles – I love love triangles… I love that they contribute to the angst… I’ve read on Goodreads that there are people opposed to characters who cheat. To each their own but I have no such qualms when it comes to a story line. Though again it has to be done well, I have to understand why they cheated… I don’t want them just jumping from one bed to the other… I want to be hurting with them, rooting for them…

pick me

Alpha males – ahhhh… I love me a dominant, possessive alpha male πŸ™‚ I love when they can’t bear the thought of sharing their women, when they get crazy jealous… I recently started getting into Menage books… which was strange at first because of the sharing and though I absolutely enjoyed the ones I read, I still prefer the dominant, crazy possessive alpha male πŸ™‚

yum

Smart smut – I’m not super particular about this but I enjoy finding books where the hero and heroine are both smart, have incredibly clever and witty banter and I learn a thing or two… it doesn’t happen every day that I come across such books so kudos to the few I’ve found πŸ™‚

I’ll end by saying that I love strong heroines but I’ve written about it so no need to go back to that…

so which books have the best of any of this… and interestingly enough, healthy doses of the rest… ?

STEAM

in flightmile 2Groundedbad things

ANGST

real BD

LOVE TRIANGLE

no turning backKathleen turner 2turning point

CRAZY, JEALOUS, POSSESSIVE MEN

this manbeneathTHIS MAN CONFESSED

SMUT FOR THE SMART

SIRENthe-angel1prince

AROUSEallure-cover-pic

AWESOMELY CLEVER/WITTY BANTER

begteasesubmitcontrolburn

Feel free to leave me any recommendations of any books that have any of the above πŸ™‚ xx

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, Erotica, New Adult, Romantic Suspense and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Rants and Raves – Of stuff that I love in books…

  1. Michelle says:

    Jessy,
    I’m with you! I want to be entertained, but not driven to a mental health therapist, after reading a book. My pet peeves are NA, characters who, if this were a horror film, would be “too stupid to live,” writing about a lifestyle the author has not been thoroughly researched and/or “lived,” and poorly written and edited fan fiction being touted as the “next best thing.” Beta readers and professional editors are NOT optional for authors.

    Strong, intelligent women are a must! Men who are not just comfortable being with strong women, but deeply attracted and proud to be with them, make me hot! Recently, I read Bella Juarez’s “Black Ops Brotherhood” series, which features characters in their 30s, 40s and 50s. I was surprised, because it seems like people over 40, are written as parents of the horny teens/college students, not as the actually sexy leads, with a side of kink.
    ~Michelle

    • LOL! I like NA nowadays… selectively πŸ™‚ but I never actively seek out NA books… And I know what you mean about the fan fic!
      I’ll check out the Black Ops Brotherhood.. I like older characters especially in their 30s and 40s πŸ™‚

  2. Muriel says:

    Hi Jessy,
    First, sorry for my bad english, I’m french from Belgium but I do read in English a lot and I love that because in french language the steamy parts don’t sound the same.
    I’m 100% with you on this post.
    Buy the way, I β™₯ your blog and the way you talk about what you like or not !
    Thanks a lot for all the greats books I’ve read “because” of you (Broken is still my favorite).
    Take care.
    Muriel

  3. Great post. I have not read any of the books you have recommended so I am pleased to be adding some great ones to my TBR list now. Thanks!

  4. Tonya Allen says:

    I love all of your recommendations. You never disappoint, Thank you!

  5. Maggs says:

    I love your book blog – thank you so much!
    Can I please ask who is the author of the book “Broken” you and Muriel refer to as being your favorite book ever? When I looked on Amazon the re are a lot of books by differnet authors all called Broken! Thank you. πŸ™‚

  6. Megan Hart — unbelievable. After Broken leaves you in a million pieces, read DIRTY.

    • I read Dirty before Broken… then I bought ALL Megan Hart’s books πŸ™‚ You know at the end where she says “There is only one truth of which I feel confident, one thing I know that nothing else can change. This month, my name is Sadie.” Ahhh… chills everytime! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

