Guest Book Review – Incineration (Heart of Stone) – D.H Sidebottom

I’ve heard such good things about this one and Bennita is reviewing it for us 🙂

Blurb: ‘Sometimes, all life deals you is shit, you just have to learn to accept the hand you’re given and win…and win good!’

After a horrific childhood and a tragic incident whilst living on the streets, Ava Stone is taken in by George Fielding, a respected figure in London’s organised crime circle. 
After a few years of being under George’s protection and care, Ava is employed by Mason Fox, when George suddenly decides to retire abroad.

Mason is top of the ladder in the crime world and Ava finds herself equally frightened of him and intrigued by him. He brings out emotions and reactions Ava hasn’t felt in a very long time and soon the pair are utterly consumed in a passionate but toxic affair.
Masons’ dominancy and need for control has Ava fighting against the things she swore would never hold her back from life, but she soon discovers that love and passion may not be enough to hold their turbulent relationship together and when a friend of Masons’ is gripped by a jealous rage, Ava finds herself relying and depending on the very parts of her old self that she locked away so securely five years ago along with desperately trying to shield her heart from Masons suffocating rule on her.
Sometimes, Love is just that little bit too difficult.

After looking through reviews, I had mixed feelings about this book, but I went out on a limb and hunkered down.  Initially this book was a little annoying with the repetitive use of the word “Erm” and the poor Kindle formatting.  I almost put it down after the very first chapter, but I’m glad I didn’t.  Although the distracting format continued for the entire book, the story gradually yanked me in ever so slowly until I couldn’t look away.

Ava and Mason have one of the most destructive relationships in a romance novel, but you can’t help rooting for them.  Mason is sexy, domineering and possessive to the bone and Ava is an ass kicking, strong-willed heroine who can’t seem to shake her insane attraction to Mason and who also apparently has an unhealthy, yet comical relationship with alcohol when she’s distressed.

Mason changes his whole outlook on relationships for Ava, but they both have trust issues that constantly put them at odds. They are faced with psychotic best friends, hateful exes, crazed stalkers and a profound loss that will change their lives forever.  Their love is so strong that they work through all of those things, only to be faced with the ultimate betrayal – one I never saw coming.  I literally had to reread because I couldn’t believe what was happening.  By the time I got to the end of this book, I was so frustrated and heartbroken, I immediately had to buy the next two books.

4 stars!

Amazon: Incineration (Heart of Stone) by D.H Sidebottom

heart of stone

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Guest Book Review – Incineration (Heart of Stone) – D.H Sidebottom

  1. Carol says:

    Bennita, I am with you on this – the book was nothing short of Immense! I could not put it down and when i finished i just HAD to move straight onto the next 2 novels, brutal but tragic this series has it all!!! And what a fighter Ava is – she and Mason were both end of the same piece of rope – pulling themselves apart but destined to always be connected – there was never any doubt they would pull through. Highly recommed all 3 of these books – in fact I think I may just have to start to read them again right now!

    • I’m sooooo tempted so I’ve pushed higher on the TBR…

      • Carol says:

        I really hope you give them a go:)
        I can whip through a book in a day normally (at the weekends) but these drew me in hook line and sinker – I just had to read them any minute I got – I grabbed a few minutes before work – lunch break – whatever – I had to finish them!! and I was certainly not disappointed.

  2. Cara Thereon says:

    I wasn’t sure I wanted to read this book after reading the description and reviews. I’m still not sure. This may be one I have to think about a little longer.

  3. Carol says:

    I hope you try the series, i picked them up on a whim and couldnt put them down. Gutsy reading – loved them!

  4. Kelly says:

    I was very interested after reading your review so I went and look into this book….like Mason intensity, but what is with all the cheating??? can you give some insight?

  5. Bennita says:

    Without giving too much away, Mason and Ava are pretty destructive as a couple and Mason puts her through such an emotional tailspin, I think Ava is looking for something “normal”. I did find it hard to believe that she would even consider being with anyone besides Mason, but Ava is pretty sexually charged in this series and someone else piqued her interest. That definitely blew me away, but Mason is no innocent either. Personally, I think they both needed counseling 🙂

Leave a Reply

