Book Review – Real – Katy Evans

I feel some weird warmth all over my heart. I’m not kidding, I actually feel the warmth… my heart is still hurting from this one. And my head is such a mess I can only hope to write a good review.

So Brooke is dragged to an underground fight club by her best friend Melanie. Brooke is adverse to any sort of violence and doesn’t expect to have a good time, until he comes into the ring- Remington “riptide” Tate.

The guy is just too much. Too much male. Too much masculinity and pure raw beast. Put together, he’s just like sex on a stick and every female around me is shouting at the top of her lungs how much she wants to lick.

Brooke can’t take his eyes off him and even with all the women screaming his name, Remington sees her.

There’s no apology in his stare. In the way he ignores everyone that shouts his name and stares at me with a look that’s so sexual I almost feel taken right there.

She’s not used to the emotions that go through her, and when she gets up to leave Remington actually follows. 

What starts out as pure physical attraction morphs into something deeper, something totally crazy but something so utterly beautiful I had tears in my eyes. Remington offers Brooke a job. See Brooke was an athlete herself, aspiring for the Olympics until an injury left her unable to compete. The injury forced Brooke to change her career path but also influenced her degree in sports rehab. And since she’s jobless, she accepts the job offer.

The job of course means that Brooke gets to travel with Remy all over the country during fight season and this brings them much much closer than either of them expected. Remington however, is one tortured man, and Brooke can’t even begin to imagine what kinds of demons torment this incredible man she’s gotten so close to.

I never could resist a tortured hero and Remy was no different. His past and present just broke my heart. And of course this has shaped the man he is today. I loved the way he communicated with Brooke. From the beginning he knew Brooke was different and he wanted her to get to know him, flaws and all. Since he can’t seem to tell her what he feels, he communicates through music.

“I want to say so many things Brooke, and I just can’t find the words to tell them to you… I want to play you a thousand different songs so you get a clue of what… I feel inside me…”

Brooke on the other hand wants Remy to fuck her already. It was actually funny to read how much she thought about sex. But with Remy’s good looks, sexy smile and hot fighter’s body even I would think of sex 24/7! But Remy is intent on not sleeping with her until she gets to know the real him… until he’s certain that she wants and needs him the same way he wants and needs her… until he’s certain she can withstand his flaws…

“You’ll leave me the second it gets too steep, and you’ll leave me with nothing – when I want you like I’ve never wanted anything in my life. You’re all I think about, dream about. I get high and low and it’s all about you now, its not even about me anymore. I can’t sleep, can’t think, can’t concentrate worth shit anymore and it’s all because I want to be the fucking ‘one’ for you and as soon as you realize what I am, all I’ll be is a fucking mistake!”

God I loved Remy! He wasn’t just possessive, this was co-dependency, dangerous and wild but all devastatingly beautiful.

“Give me a goddamned guarantee. I won’t let you fucking leave me, and you’re going to want to try, I’m going to be difficult and I’m going to be an ass, and sooner of later you’re going to have fucking enough of me”

“I’ll never have enough of you, never.”

The reality of what he lives with would probably have other girls running the opposite direction, but Brooke loves every side of him. Goes out of her way to show him that. And though Brooke’s resolve is tested (and I hated that she… you know… that part with the letter… I’m trying to make this spoiler free!) I can’t tell you the last time I read a connection so deep, so primal, so intense! I loved Brooke as a heroine and I absolutely fell in love with Remy.

I’m not sure I could ever do this book justice by writing one review. And just when I think I couldn’t love it more, I get to the Epilogue and it’s Remy’s POV, and my heart that hasn’t stopped beating wildly as I read this, fires up again, hurts again. But don’t get me wrong, its a sweet kind of hurt 🙂

This is the first time since owning a kindle that I actually want a paperback copy of a book. And I plan to dog-ear it with multiple re-reads!

5 stars! (And I’m tempted to make it more because as Brooke says, Remy is not just a star, he’s the fucking sky!) 🙂

Amazon: Real by Katy Evans

real

Real Playlist (Just a few that gave me chills reading and picturing them playing these songs to each other!)

Iris by Goo Goo Dolls

I Love You by Avril Lavigne

That’s When I knew by Alicia Keys

In Your Eyes by Peter Gabriel

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Dark Romance, New Adult and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Book Review – Real – Katy Evans

  1. Strider says:

    I loved this book even though I usually hate the kind of fighting that plays a major role in this book. I can’t wait for the next book in the series to be released…’Mine’. Thank you for all of your reviews and recommendations Jessy. I especially love Saturday when you list the free books to download. I have found many great books and not having to pay a penny for them is a huge bonus!

    • Your welcome Strider! I usually like these kinds of books, an intense (definitely crazy) kind of love… the kind I would never dare have in my (real) life but for some reason can’t resist in fiction… sigh…

      As for Saturday’s freebies, always my pleasure 🙂 xx

  2. Kelly says:

    I loved Remy, but Brooke drove me crazy!!!! I really don’t like heroines like her. He needed love and protection and she just left…bah! I also would have like to see her actually communicate ALL those things in her head instead of just listening to her blather on and on to herself. I want her to give more compassion and I really hope MINE she does. Remy is HOT HOT HOT!

    • Thats so funny! I actually quite liked Brooke, I mean I ABSOLUTELY HATED that part 😦 but other than that I quite liked her, maybe its because I also overthink everything :/ But Remy…wowzers! A man after my heart! ❤

  3. fifi says:

    this book reminds me of Beautiful Disaster 😀

    • It does… I weirdly did not feel that vybe until I finished…maybe it’s because I’d just read Walking Disaster which didn’t give me ‘that feeling’ while reading it but its definitely a “what to read after BD”…

  4. Pingback: Spotlight + Giveaway – REAL by Katy Evans | Jessy's Book Club

  5. Pingback: Rants and Raves – Favorite books of 2013 so far… | Jessy's Book Club

  6. Pingback: Cover Reveal – Mine (Real, Raw and Ripped #2) – Katy Evans | Jessy's Book Club

  7. Pingback: Blog Tour: Book Review + Giveaway – Mine (Real #2) – Katy Evans | Jessy's Book Club

  8. Pingback: Blog Tour: Book Review + Giveaway – Remy (Real #3) – Katy Evans | Jessy's Book Club

  9. Pingback: My Favorite Books of 2013 | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

