Rants and Raves – Of Novellas…

I shy away from short novels/novellas/installments i.e. any book under 200 pages. I usually find the characters underdeveloped and the plot rushed. At one point I decided to stop reviewing novellas because I would always complain about these two things. However, I read a few that made me change my view.

Most still have the dreaded two features and I’ll still complain about length, but I welcome the opportunity to have my views changed 🙂 In fact if a book is short and still manages to have deep meaningful characters and a good plot, then I bow down to the authors. I now have a new rating system for novellas, I rate them out of 4, while I rate longer books out of 5.

So today I’m raving about short novels/novellas/installments that have rocked my world and received the 4/4 rating. (Click on the title for my review and on the image to buy from amazon.com)

Comfort Food by Kitty Thomas

comfort-food-kitty-thomas-hardcover-cover-art

 

 

I can never say enough about this book and it’s author. If you love well written dark erotica, then look no further. The characterization is brilliant and her way of writing just sucks you in.

 

 

 

If you loved Comfort Food, be sure to try her other books. I’ll be reading these two next:

jack5.500x8.500.indd jack5.500x8.500.indd

 

Locked (The Alpha Group Book #1) by Maya Cross

locked

 

 

This one completely surprised me. I wasn’t sure the world needs another fictional billionaire Dom but I was wrong. I absolutely loved it!

 

 

 

 

Book #2 Locked Out will be out in May and the last in the trilogy, Unlocked should be out in June/July… so excited! Oh and I’ll be interviewing the author on Tuesday 9th April and we’ll be having a giveaway!

 

Just One Night Part 1: The Stranger by Kyra Davis

Just-One-Night-The-Stranger-copy

 

 

Yet another book with good characterization and a plot that will surprise you… but the dialogue is what did me in… loved it!

 

 

 

And its sequel…

Just One Night Part 2: Exposed by Kyra Davis

exposed

 

 

The first book ends on a cliffhanger and I expected it to go a certain way. I was so so surprised by the direction Book #2 took. Can’t wait for Book #3!

 

 

 

And there we have it! I’m always looking for recommendations so if you have any please comment below or send me an email 🙂

This entry was posted in Dark Erotica, Dark Romance, Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rants and Raves – Of Novellas…

  1. Cara Thereon says:

    I love a good novella, but I also judge them by different rules. You can make good, well rounded, deep characters in a novella, but I’m looking for a snack-sized story in those pages. It’s a quick read so as long as it grabs me by the throat, it doesn’t have to always be a plot that runs deep. I also find that good novellas make me want to read more of the authors (longer pieces). Like a taste of their ability before I commit. I’ve discovered some great authors that way. Personally, I find it harder to write novellas and shorts well because you don’t have the room to make mistakes like in a full length (200-300 pager).

    Comfort Food was sooo good by the way. I’m working my way through Kyra Davis’ books right now.

Leave a Reply

