Book Review – Enslaved (Enslaved Trilogy Book #1) – Shoshanna Evers

I was so excited to read this one when I read the blurb.

Elisabeth Anderson has seen Trevor and his friends at the infamous Manhattan BDSM club WhipperSnapper, where everyone calls them the BAD Boys, for “Billionaire Arrogant Doms.” The BAD Boys—Trevor Brooks, Marc Wilde, and Roman Chase—are aptly named; they’ve made money hand over fist due to their aggressive investing at the Brooks Wilde Chase Fund. These guys are so rich they can get away with anything, or so the rumors go.

Trevor gives Elisabeth full reign of his estate in Westchester, letting her do as she pleases. He has only two rules. Rule One: she must obey and submit to him while she is living in his house. Rule Two: always answer the blue cell phone. She’s happy to oblige, because being with Trevor makes her want to obey, to love him the way he seems to be falling for her. But Elisabeth’s never been good at being the quiet sub; she’s feisty and gets off on the punishments more than she does by pleasing Trevor.

Elizabeth can’t submit to Trevor the way he needs her to, so his friend and business partner (and fellow BAD Boy) Roman takes her in hand. But love triangles can have sharp edges…and somebody’s bound to get hurt.

Unfortunately I din’t love it as I thought I would. So Elisabeth is uncollared by her Master Gregory. He’s gay and has finally found a male submissive he likes so he releases her. He knows a Dom who’s interested in her so he sends her to him. However, Elisabeth is a masochist. She was with Gregory only because he loves to administer pain and she needs it. Which makes her a bratty submissive, deliberately disobeying to get punished. Travis on the other hand needs her to obey him and so he sends her to Roman his best friend who is meant to train her. There’s no danger of sending Elisabeth to Roman because Roman never gets attached to submissives, until of course… he does…

A warning, this book contains a lot of whipping and caning, because of course Elisabeth is a masochist and is more interested in pain than pleasure…

I just did not like Elisabeth. She mostly annoyed me; she wants Trevor, no she needs Roman, maybe she should ask Gregory, or she could just leave, oh what to do?! Sigh, she was one of those heroines I can’t bring myself to like, mostly because I just can’t relate. Trevor on the other hand was such a sweet guy. Him I definitely liked, so sweet, so romantic… He was the best part of the book.

Sadly, some conversations felt stilted, and there was a lot of ‘telling’ and not ‘showing’. For example Elisabeth’s background and her healing process was just told to us. Basically a few things/events that took place for her to come to terms with her past… I just didn’t feel the angst or emotion that should come with it.

All in all, I think the book could have been better. I really loved the premise and I think it had potential. I found the steamy scenes hot and I quite liked Trevor and Roman. But maybe it’s my Psych 101 class that made me want to have a better understanding of Elisabeth. How her background shaped her need for pain. There was just so much left unexplored. I actually feel sad that I didn’t like this one. I already have book 2 and I’ll read it because again, the blurb begs me to read it.

2.5 maybe 3 stars.

Amazon: Enslaved by Shoshanna Evers

enslaved

Finally, I would like to thank Edelweiss and Simon&Schuster for providing this ARC for my review.

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

