Rants and Raves – Of Heeding Warnings…

I’m a lover of dark erotica… just in case my tagline didn’t tip you off 🙂 so I felt the need to ‘defend’ dark erotica authors. Not that they need defending but I felt it necessary to write… no rant about something I’ve seen; reviewers slamming dark erotica books for being too graphic, too explicit or… taboo. Why, I ask, would you consciously pick up a dark taboo read, only to hate it for being precisely what it was intended to be?!

Unlike Contemporary Romance or Erotic Romance, a romantic hearts-and-flowers connection between the characters is not a feature of Dark Erotica. It could eventually be, but more often that not, it isn’t. Luckily, most of the dark erotica books I see have warnings attached to them. Let’s for example look at my favorites in this genre;

The Erotic Dark by Nina Lane <– Read my review HERE.

EroticDark small

WARNING: A full-length erotic novel with graphic scenes of dubious consent, enforced sexual submission, spanking, whipping, caning, and a great deal of hot, raunchy, explicit sex.

Read only if these themes will not offend you!

 

 

 

 

Captive in the Dark (The Dark Duet) by C.J Roberts

Captive_ebook-781x1024

WARNING: This book contains very disturbing situations, dubious consent, strong language, and graphic violence.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comfort Food by Kitty Thomas <– Read my review HERE.

comfort-food-kitty-thomas-hardcover-cover-art

WARNING: Comfort Food is a work of literary erotica that explores power dynamics and the psychology of ownership. This work is NOT romance.

 

 

 

 

 

So why, pray tell, would you buy these books only to complain that they were either too graphic, too violent or not romantic enough?!

It must be so annoying as an author to keep receiving bad reviews from people who don’t like dark erotica and therefore would not have loved the book in the first place. Prime example, Marata Eros, the author of the Druid Breeders Series. Her book Reapers (Book #1) initially came with this warning;

reepers

WARNING: Reapers is dark, paranormal erotica which may contain disturbing scenes, marginal/forced consent sex, and graphic violence. It is intended for a mature adult audience.

The author then added this;

**Note from the author: a qualifier has been in place from the beginning so readers may make an educated choice prior to the download of this erotic story. After receiving fourteen, one-star reviews in which the reader chose a story that did not suit their taste, I elected to bold the key wording in my initial warning. Further: TDB novella series is an erotic-driven romance. This means that the sexual context of the story is primary and the romance is secondary. In subsequent installments, romance is flavored a little more strongly but does not overtake the erotic element.

There you have it, you can’t say you weren’t warned!

And while this qualifies erotica, let’s not forget the taboo topics found in dark erotica. It really isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. I personally absolutely love it! I know many people who’ve been apprehensive only to be completely surprised by how brilliant some of these books are. So I definitely urge everyone to try them, but again, forewarned is forearmed.

I asked C.J Roberts, what kind of ‘backlash’ she faced after releasing The Dark Duet…

Well, the majority of reviews are positive so I don’t worry overmuch about the negative ones. The biggest backlash I’ve gotten is from people who say I’m romanticizing human trafficking, or that I am romanticizing rape. Honestly, I think that’s bullshit. While I understand the hesitation and trepidation in ‘enjoying’ the work, I’d like to think my work can be compared to other controversial works such as, Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov. The work is written from the view point of the abuser and therefore entices the reader to sympathize.

I did not set to ‘romanticize’ the slave trade; I do not paint it in a flattering light. Instead, I present my readers with characters. What my readers ultimately come to feel for those characters is up to them…. That said, I love the fact my books inspire so much dialogue and debate.

Well put!

To conclude, please heed the warning. Its there for a reason. Ignoring it then complaining about it is seriously annoying and says more about you than it does about the book.

This entry was posted in Dark Erotica, Erotica and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Rants and Raves – Of Heeding Warnings…

  1. Christina Bradbrook says:

    Well said I am presently reading dark captive and it’s not like it didn’t warn you and it was a recommendation that led me to read it , I think some people are expecting a fsog book and that is isn’t but you would know that from the outset. I’m glad the author takes no notice good for her 🙂

    Chrissie

    Sent from my iPhone

    • You’re right Chrissie, some people possibly consider FSoG dark and in their quest to find similar books end up with dark erotica… lol, talk about a shock to the system! On the plus side it leads them to discover a genre they probably never expected to love 🙂

  2. Juewelz says:

    I love this breakdown it’s so important for readers to research books before purchasing ! Just because your fav blogger loves it doesn’t mean it’s for you . I find reading these kind of books to be a release because it takes me on a journey I never would have experienced . Yes the violence can be hard but I love that the HEA doesn’t come easy!

    • Exactly how I feel about this genre!

      And as a blogger you always hope to get like minded people but even in that, the reviews, at least my reviews are very subjective… hopefully no one forgets that 🙂

  3. Cara Thereon says:

    Nicely put! I love dark erotica (and all the books you’ve mentioned in this post are cream of the crop for this genre). Fiction is fantasy in written form, but dark erotica always seems to stay closer to reality in that this stuff could happen. You could fall for your tormentor, you could learn to like the things that happen to you, you could end up longing to please your captor. The human mind does funny things to compensate and protect us.

    I read and reviewed Big Sky on Goodreads, and said it was dark, but I sympathized and understood all the characters – liked them even. I had someone say that no sane, healthy female would act the Ronnie did. Why not? We would do anything to survive if are options are few.

    Sorry for the babble, but I like reading and writing in this genre. Those people who don’t heed the warning and then complain should be smacked.

  4. Athena says:

    Well said as written. I NOW love Dark Erotica too & I’ve really come to depend on your reviews as I’ve tip toed into this interest of mine. So you’re dark, sexy & smart too. Good to know. That’s why I really appreciate your screens of these reads. Thanks. A

  5. Bennita says:

    I’ve just been formally introduced to dark erotica and honestly, those are the books that make my jaw drop and I find myself recommending them to friends. Taboo topics are what blows my mind, so I agree that if you are warned about the topic and you still read the book, that’s on you! I also guiltily wish there was more romance sometimes, but that’s just my “thing”, but I understand that a lot of times it’s not about romance. By the way, I read Marata Eros’ books and I love them!

  6. jessie – i’m with you – and when i review i’ve also veen saying take note of the warnings and don’t buy if you’re offended. its just not fair to complain after when the warnings are there! a couple of authors i’ve really enjoyed are ke;e moon and the eden series (two books – each complete novel but same characters ) http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Ddigital-text&field-keywords=eden+kele+moon and Lucy V Morgan – chairman of the whored and the whore’s prayer – two books one follows the other. http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Ddigital-text&field-keywords=lucy+v+morgan&rh=n%3A341677031%2Ck%3Alucy+v+morgan Both authors write what i think of as erotica for the thinking reader…those of us who want a good story to go with the hot sex, and both these ladies do just that IMO with indepth insights into why the characters have the needs they do.

  7. Sheri Zee says:

    Awesome post! Well said!

  8. Pingback: Rants and Raves – Of authors and goodreads… | Jessy's Book Club

  9. Pingback: Rants and Raves – Of Dark Erotica… | Jessy's Book Club

  10. StacyHgg says:

    GREAT POST!!!! I get so angry when people review books negatively based on whether the characters are moral or not. If you want your characters a certain way read the reviews and warnings prior to buying it. Even then, if you come across one anyway just DNF it and move on. I don’t like light and fluffy romance so if I read a review that classifies a book as such I WONT BUY IT! It really is that simple.
    I am also a book blogger and that is why we try to get reviews up so people can make an INFORMED decision about what to read.

Leave a Reply

