Book Review – Break Me Slowly – Joya Ryan

If the Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy and the Crossfire Trilogy made a baby, it would be called Break Me Slowly.

The blurb: Graduate student Katelyn Gunn is headed for her first day of assistant teaching when she is almost hit by a car. The nervous and inexperienced Kate is shocked to realize that it isn’t the near death experience that has her heart racing, but the sinfully sexy man behind the wheel. Adam Kinkade is ultra-wealthy, devastatingly handsome, and the most powerful distribution mogul in Chicago—he is also the first man who ignites emotions inside of her other than fear.

Adam is a man used to getting what he wants. And he wants Katelyn—naked and often. Willing to stop at nothing to possess her, he relentlessly pursues Kate only to discover that it is she who possesses him—completely. Kate quickly realizes that Adam has secrets of his own, secrets dark enough to break the walls she keeps so firmly in place.

I quite enjoyed this one. I had just come from a very intense read so this fit in perfectly. Short and steamy. When I first saw the title I expected a dark read which it wasn’t. Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing light about the characters’ pasts. They both come from abusive backgrounds and we get a glimpse of Adam’s and in much more detail, Katelyn’s.

We were two broken people who couldn’t communicate about the darkness that was swallowing us whole.

I quite liked Katelyn as a heroine and if you love controlling/possessive men, you will love Adam.

You belong to me, Katelyn. Your body, your mind, your soul. I won’t stop until I have it all.

While I enjoyed it, I will say that if you’ve read Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared To You, then you will find the story very familiar. There is also the case of insta-love which I know some readers find too unbelievable. I on the other hand have no problem with it. If I can ‘believe’ that a super sexy, super rich guy that flies his own planes and sails his own ships at the young age of 27 can fall in love with an ordinary girl who works in a hardware shop, then I can believe that two people can look into each others eyes and fall in love without saying a word. It is all fiction after all and I tend to enjoy things in books that I would not dare do in real life 😉

So all in all, if you go into it looking for something like FSoG, then you’ve found the right book.

3.5 Stars

Amazon: Break Me Slowly by Joya Ryan

BreakMeSlowly-600x900

Finally I’d like to thank the author for providing this ARC for my honest review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Book Review – Break Me Slowly – Joya Ryan

  1. Lenette says:

    I think i’m going to like this story. Just downloaded it on the kindle, only 165 pages but only .99c. Thanx Jessy for the review! xx

  2. Kelly says:

    Ok so I bought this book at the same time I bought another one…Leo. I read this one first and thought it was ok. Then I read Leo. Now that is a book! There are some books that are ok, you like the story but you feel on the outside of it, like the connection isn’t there; then there are books where you are completely invested in them. You feel the characters. These two books are a perfect example of that. Check out Leo. Well worth it!

    • I know what you mean…I feel like it was so rushed we didn’t have the time to connect with the characters 😦 I’ve heard a lot about Leo, I intend to get it… thanks for the rec 🙂 xx

  3. Melissa says:

    Just bought this book on my kindle. VERY excited to read it. I loved 50 shades and the crossfire series. Any idea whether is a trilogy like the others. I would love to know!

Leave a Reply

