Author Interview + Giveaway (closed) – Tessa Bailey author of Protecting What’s His!!!

Today we have none other than Tessa Bailey at Jessy’s Book Club! She’s the author of Protecting What’s His… her debut novel and one of the best debuts I’ve read this year! Read my review HERE and at the end of the interview Tessa will be giving one lucky winner an e-copy of Protecting What’s His!

***

Jessy: Welcome to Jessy’s Book Club Tessa! Please tell us a bit about yourself. 

Tessa: I live in Brooklyn, a really great place to get inspiration. You can walk to the corner and see something unusual or crazy happening. I got in my car and drove to New York City the day after my high school graduation to pursue journalism, but I kept going back to romance. I have a lovely husband from Ireland with a killer accent and a beautiful little girl.

Jessy: What inspired you to become a writer? 

Tessa: Well I’ve always written creatively since a young age, but (and this is going to sound terrible because I write filthy, sexy romance) but wanting to give my my 20-month-old daughter a better life gave me the push I needed to pursue an actual career in writing.

Jessy: Were you faced with any challenges while writing the book?

Tessa: My husband was out of work for six weeks because of Hurricane Sandy, and I wrote the book so I’d have an excuse to get away from him! I love the guy but we were cooped up in the apartment for too long together. I think a little of Ginger’s take-no-shit attitude stemmed from my frustration.

Jessy: Lol! Ok, I have to ask you about Derek’s character… loved him … as did all women who read the book!  Is his character based on anyone you know? Or is he pure fiction? 

Tessa: Pure fiction. Sorry, gals. If a man like that existed, we’d all probably be camped out on his doorstep 🙂

Jessy: I know I’d be! The scenes between Derek and Ginger were off the charts steamy! How do you prepare to write a steamy scene? Music and wine? Complete silence and google? 🙂 

Tessa: No music during the actual writing, but there are a few songs that get me in a sexy mood like “In the Cold, Cold Night” by The White Stripes or “I Wanna Be Adored” by the Stone Roses. I do like to drink wine when I’m writing a sexy scene, though. I think it makes me more creative. I’m much more likely to take a chance on something (like a position or some dirty dialogue) when I have three glasses of wine in me. Then I usually giggle like a maniac.

Jessy: Ahhh… Dutch courage… I live in Amsterdam so I know all about Dutch courage 🙂

Ginger is a big country music (Dolly Parton) fan. Are you also into Country Music? 

Tessa: Not at all! But I LOVE Dolly Parton as an inspirational figure. If you’re not following her on Twitter, do yourself a favor. She’s like a fountain of wisdom and never has a bad thing to say about anyone. Love her.

Jessy:  What kinds of books do you read on your downtime? 

Tessa: Romance with a sprinkling of non-fiction. The most recent book I read was ICED, by Karen Marie Moning. Before that I read The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot.

Jessy: What can we expect next from Tessa Bailey? 

Tessa: I’ve got an NYPD trilogy coming up! The first one should come out this summer – it’s about a skirt-chasing, hot shot hostage negotiator who falls for his mentor’s daughter. Before that, however, I believe there’s a novella on the horizon 🙂

Jessy: Ooooh! A hostage negotiator! Definitely looking forward to that! Thanks for joining us Tessa!

***

Show the author some love and follow;

Tessa Bailey on Twitter

Tessa Bailey on Facebook

Tessa Bailey’s Website

***

GIVEAWAY

protecting tessa bailey

One e-copy of Protecting What’s His is up for grabs!

The giveaway is open internationally. All you have to do is leave a comment below letting me know which author impressed you the most with their debut. While you’re at it, head over to Jessy’s Book Club on Facebook and like the page :)

Giveaway closes on Wednesday 20 March 2013 at 18:00 EST.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Author Interview + Giveaway (closed) – Tessa Bailey author of Protecting What’s His!!!

  1. Not sure if it’s her 1st Novel, but I absolutely love BattleScars by Sophie Monroe.

  2. Michelina says:

    Awesome interview! I love all of the brazen collection books. You can’t go wrong with them, they are Hottttt!!!

    I would have to pick Molly McAdams with Taking Chances. Few books have made me feel all different kind of emotions like this one did. Now her books are an automatic one-click for me 🙂

  3. andrea1133 says:

    I am going to go with S.L. Jennings with Dark Light! I am in love with that series. Fantastic!!!

  4. kgagnon2013 says:

    Tina Reber with Love Unscripted!

  5. Louise says:

    Sylvain Reynard with the Gabriel series – i just couldn’t put it down!!!

  6. jeanniezelos says:

    so many good books but this one still stands out Deborah Harkness and A Discovery of Witches. Really good meaty page turner full of histroy, characters that are realistic and yet quirky and of course some Romance : )

  7. I already read it so I have the electronic copy. Loved the debut!

  8. Tess says:

    Collide by Gail McHugh! I can’t believe it’s her debut cause it’s such an amazing book! Gavin is one of my top 10 BBF! And this amazing book is now $0.99 only! It is worth every penny when it is full price at $3.99 so this sale price is a steal! Plus she’s an awesome person! Love Gail!!! ❤

    Great interview with Tessa! I've heard amazing things about Protecting What's His and it's high up on my TBR list! Would very much love to read it! Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

    p.s. Tessa, you've got a wonderful name! 😉 Hehe

    tess_halim(at)hotmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

