Book Review – Surrender Your Love – J.C Reed

Holy Mother of Pearls what a cliffhanger!

The blurb: Meeting Jett was like lightning. Dangerous. Better left untouched. And better forgotten. But lightning always strikes twice. Brooke Stewart, a realtor in New York, doesn’t do relationships. When she’s sent to a remote estate to finalize a real estate deal, she discovers her new boss is no other than the guy she left naked in bed. Sexy, dangerously handsome, and arrogant Jett Mayfield attracts trouble, and women, like a lightning rod. But the night he meets Brooke he gets more than he bargained for. The green-eyed millionaire playboy isn’t used to taking no for an answer, and he isn’t about to start now. When he proposes two months of no strings sex, Brooke is intrigued and accepts his proposal. Little does she know Jett’s determined to claim the one woman he can’t have, pulling her deeper into his dangerous world.

It started out slightly reminiscent of Fifty Shades of Grey. You know, the billionaire, the contract, the girl next door… and just like FSoG, I was sucked into the story. Yes, I’m still a sucker for these unlikely romances 🙂 But then I got deeper into the story and realized that that’s where the comparison to FSoG ended.

Brooke is attracted to Jett (who wouldn’t be?!) but she’s just out of a relationship, has a past that hasn’t made her the most trusting of men, so she’s happier staying away from him. That’s until she gets the job and goes to Italy with Jett. In Italy she signs a CSACA (Consensual Sexual Acts and Confidentiality Agreement) and their heated affair starts.

But in the midst of the affair she’s still his assistant and the more she learns about Jett’s company, the more she doubts his business ethics. See Jette wants to acquire a piece of land in Italy to develop private villas. The owner, an elderly Italian man has refused to sell, so Jett asks for Brooke’s help in the matter, a fresh eye if you will.

I have to admit that I read the initial chapters purely out of love for Erotic Romance. I immediately loved the heroine and who wouldn’t love the hero… have you seen the cover?! I thought I had it figured out. However it turned out to be much more. Both Brooke and Jett have tortured pasts…

“And then there’s the fact that we’re kindred spirits. You’re fucked up and I’m fucked up too, and that makes great dinner conversation.”

While Brooke’s was revealed, there was still a lot about Jett we didn’t know. I was super suspicious of a lot of things about him but of course I was looking at it from the outside in, so I didn’t quite fault Brooke for not seeing it, or seeing it and not acting on it.

So there I was, reading this story in a happy bubble… them getting to know each other, her getting to learn his business, some suspicious goings-on, steamy scenes…. then BAM! That happens! Gah, there’s no way of saying it without saying too much so I’ll let you read it for yourselves. Motives revealed, trust broken… and yes, a cliffhanger.

4 Stars!

Amazon: Surrender Your Love by J.C Reed

surrender your love

Finally I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my honest review.

J.C Reed Site

J.C Reed on Facebook

J.C Reed on Twitter

J.C Reed on Goodreads

***

GIVEAWAY (closed)

Two e-copies of Surrender Your Love are up for grabs thanks to J.C Reed!

The giveaway is open internationally. All you have to do is leave a comment below. Lets play favorites; Tell me your favorite author(s) or favorite book series or favorite trilogy… While you’re at it, why don’t you head over to Jessy’s Book Club on Facebook and like the page :)

Giveaway closes on Saturday 16 March 2013 at 18:00 EST.

***

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Book Review – Surrender Your Love – J.C Reed

  1. Sara G. says:

    Right now, my favorite books are Find You in the Dark and I Love You to Death. My favorite author is Colleen Hoover and my favorite series is the Dark Duet Series by CJ Roberts 🙂

  2. Lenette says:

    Wow, sounds so good, can’t wait to read it! I love almost everything from Sylvia Day, Crossfire series being my favourite, love The Fifty Shades story & am really enjoying This Man & Beneath This Man by Jodi Ellen Malpas! I think I may be adding JC Reed to my list! 🙂

  3. Janet says:

    Too many books read to have one favorite but I do loved the Crossfire series, the Jodi Ellen Malpas books, the Sunflower trilogy by Jennifer Domenico, Beauty from Pain, and Fifty Shaes just to name a few. 🙂

  4. Yvette Sharp says:

    My favourite is J.R. Ward’s ‘Black Dagger Brotherhood’ series; absolutely staggering! Looking forward to reading “Surrender Your Love” 🙂

  5. Carol says:

    Right now my all time favorites are This Man & Beneath This Man by Jodi Ellen Malpas! Patiently awaiting the third book in the trilogy!!!

  6. Cara Thereon says:

    One of my favorites is the Simply series by Kate Pearce (Simply Sexual is the first). It’s historical and very erotic. Another is the Dark Hunter novels by Sherrilyn Kenyon. I’m reading them through for a second time.

  7. jette jepsen says:

    I just have to read that one sounds like an amazing book. I just love fighting for flight by J B Salsbury. Raven and jonah are just a coupel from heaven and the story just stays with you.

  8. J.c. Reed says:

    Thanks so much for the great review and hosting the event, Jessy. I really appreciate it. Jessica

  9. Bennita says:

    I’m a sucker for cliffhangers. Those books are addictive. I usually blow right through them in anticipation. This books sounds sooo good. Just added it to my to- read shelf.

  10. angi says:

    Probley cj roberts her current duet books get me going. Or kit rocha beyond shame. Mama liked those a lot!!

  11. P.J. Evans says:

    Ugh, I hate those pesky cliffhangers! This one’s on my TBR list so thanks for the review Jessy =D

    Don’t really have one favorite author, and there so many book series that I like… I had to make a series spotlight on my blog just to keep track of them! But I guess if I had to pick one, I’d go with the KGI novels by Maya Banks. I’ve read all 6 that have been released, and not a single one of them has disappointed me! I swear, the last installment had me crying within in the first few chapters =/

    • I’m so happy you talked about the KGI Series! I bought the first one due to a blogger’s recommendation and I’ve been meaning to start but I had a few review commitments… I can’t wait for it! My favorite is the Kathleen Turner Series… also Romantic Suspense 🙂 xx

      • P.J. Evans says:

        The first one was my favorite because the story line is just WOW. I’m certain you’re going to love it!! Read it 3 years ago, and it still gets to me =D

  12. I love so many authors and trilogies. One of my favorite trilogies is the Breathing Series by Rebecca Donovan.

  13. Favorite authors : Kristian Ashley. Favorite series The Lux series by Jennifer Armentrout.
    Great review by the way!

  14. kgagnon2013 says:

    My favorite authors: Susan Elizabeth Phillips, JR Ward, Jill Shalvis, Kristan Ashley, J. K. Rowling and I could go on…. lol
    Thanks fo rthe giveaway!

  15. Atypical Midwestern Librarian says:

    My favorite series would be the Psy-Changelings by Nalini Singh

  16. Strider says:

    My favorite trilogy is The Cross Trilogy. I’ve never been one to wish away time…but I wish time would fly by to the day the final Cross trilogy is released!

  17. Laura Mendez says:

    Kristen Ashley
    ….. I love her Rock Chick series….

  18. Michelina says:

    My favorite author is Elizabeth Reyes 😀

    I love all her series !

  19. i love colleen hoover!!! amazing!!!!

  20. Karolina D says:

    My favorite author is Karina Halle. Her experiment in terror series is fantastic. I also love the Thoughtless trilogy by SC Stephens. There are so many really great authors to read that it’s hard to just narrow that list down, but these are definitely at the top.

  21. Lynette says:

    My favorite series right now are Sylvia Day’s Bared to You and Jodi Ellen Malpas’s This Man trilogies. They’re both awesome!! 🙂

  22. Louise says:

    oh my days there are toooo many to choose from. I love the cross fire trilogy and am loving the Gabriel’s trilogy. But lets not forget the This man series and bared to you…… i think I have a book addiction!!!!

  23. wolfshadow says:

    After reading your review I downloaded Surrender Your Love almost immediately. I just had a chance to start reading it earlier today and I just finished it about an hour ago! I couldn’t stop reading! I wish they would publish these series books all at once! At least Surrender Your Love isn’t a 120 to 200 page book that is part of a sequel that authors tend to publish these days. Any book under 300 pages has no business being a series. It should be a self contained book. I’m getting off track……sorry. I loved this book and will be anxiously awaiting the next book Conquer Your Love! Thanks for your review that sent me straight to the online book store to download another winner!.

  24. andieleah78 says:

    So excited to read this! gonna be so hot!

Leave a Reply

