Rants and Raves – Of Good Erotica…

Today I’m raving about my favorite books in the Erotica/Erotic Romance/Dark Erotica categories.

I kind of think of myself as primarily an erotica reviewer. As much as my tag line features Contemporary Romance and Paranormal Romance, there has to be steamy scenes for me to consider reading those categories. Hmmm… maybe I should write that in my review section to avoid all the YA novels I receive to review. I have nothing against YA but I just don’t enjoy it as much as I enjoy other genres.

It has to be said that as much as I enjoy Erotica, I prefer there to be a good story… a love story… not just, you know, sex sex sex. So here goes, my favorite Erotica books and I highly recommend every book on this list.

Broken by Megan Hart – This is possibly my favorite Erotica novel. It made me cry so much my boyfriend was in shock. Its such a deep story about Mary who’s married to Adam, a quadriplegic. She meets Joe at a park bench. Everytime they meet, Joe tells her a story about his sexcapades. And everytime she listens to them she ‘becomes’ every woman Joe describes. It was so beautifully written, so steamy yet so so sad. (Read my review) (Buy from Amazon)

broken megan hart

This Man by Jodi Ellen Malpas – Anyone who loves reading about controlling/possessive men should pick this one up. I’m convinced that Jesse Ward’s picture is right next to the words controlling/possessive in the dictionary. He was crazy, relentlessly pursued Ava, and has the best ‘sense fucks’ ever 😉 (Buy from Amazon)

this-man1

Control by Charlotte Stein – This was my first foray into femdom. I was surprised at how much I loved it. In fact for days afterwards I begged my boyfriend to try submission 🙂 But seeing as I was begging not commanding, the point was moot :/ Basically the book is about Madison who owns an erotica book store and is out to hire an assistant. She interviews two men; Adam and Gabriel. Adam is as alpha as they come but Gabriel just the opposite. Maddy realizes she wants them both but while she has to submit to one, she has to command the other, and eventually has to choose what/who she prefers. (Read my review) (Buy from Amazon)

control

Seduced in the Dark by C.J Roberts – This is the sequel to Captive in the Dark and as much as I loved CITD, this sequel is what did me in. Dark taboo erotica where the girl, Livvie is kidnapped by Caleb. Caleb’s intention is to train Livvie to become a slave. Caleb is as sadistic as it gets but Olivia finds herself attracted to him. Stockholm syndrome at its best. I thought about this book for WEEKS afterwards. (Sidenote: I’m interviewing the author on Monday and there’ll be a giveaway!) (Buy from Amazon)

SEDUCED

Mile High by R.K Lilley – Another sequel, book #2 in the Up in the Air series. I chose this book out of the three because the steamy scenes are forever etched in my mind. There’s a scene on horseback that has made me look at equestrianism in a different light 😉 This is the story of James and Bianca, a Dom and his sub… all in all a beautiful story. (Read my review) (Buy from Amazon)

mile high (2)

Knight by Kristen Ashley – Hands down my favorite KA book. Knight is the perfect hero, so freakin sexy yet honest and protective. A story of a man, an anti hero if you will, who meets an innocent girl and almost instantaneously wants to protect her. Beautiful story and steamy scenes! (Read my review) (Buy from Amazon)

knight

The Fifth Favor by Shelby Reed – I just finished this one and I’ll say its probably the best book I’ve read this year. I’m writing my review later today. It’s about Adrian, a male prostitute and Billie a reporter. Billie writes for a magazine set to do a piece on the life of a male prostitute. Billie however wants to see the man behind the gigolo persona. And between her digging and a tragic accident in Adrian’s life, she begins to see the man beneath. A tortured man in desperate need of love. The book is so so angsty, so so steamy and just perfect. (Buy from Amazon)

the-fifth-favor-181x300

Liberating Lacey by Anne Calhoun – Think younger guy, older woman. The guy a low earning cop and the woman a rich divorcee. This book was off the charts steamy! And that coupled with the angst of two different people fighting to be apart though they know they should be together equals a perfect erotic romance novel. (Read my review) (Buy from Amazon)

liberating

Beyond Shame by Kit Rocha – This one is dystopian erotica where there’s a place called Eden. In Eden no one is allowed to drink, fornicate, wear seductive clothing, nothing. If you’re caught doing any of that you’re sent to the Sectors. And this is where Noelle finds herself. Kicked out of Eden and in Sector 4. In the Sectors you can do anything you want, no shame. Noelle meets Jasper and though she’s attracted to him, she also wants to try out other things she’s never done before… there’s a menage scene in a tattoo shop that’s jaw dropping hot! (Buy from Amazon)

beyond

Comfort Food by Kitty Thomas – Dark erotica, stockholm syndrome, BDSM. Emily is kidnapped. Master, her kidnapper, is intent on conditioning her. If she pleases him she gets a treat. If she displeases him she gets locked up in a cell, no contact whatsoever. He never speaks to her, but she learns that he needs control and surprisingly wants to please him in every way. This is an interesting psychological journey and since reading it I’ve marked to read anything written by Kitty Thomas. (Read my review) (Buy from Amazon)

comfort-food-kitty-thomas-hardcover-cover-art

And those are the ten that have left a lasting impression. What about you guys? What’s the best erotica/erotic romance/dark erotica novel you’ve ever read?

This entry was posted in Dark Erotica, Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rants and Raves – Of Good Erotica…

  1. Athena says:

    Morning! Great list. FYI The Fifth Favor, is being kindle released in Nov 2013 & Beyond Shame #2, is released March 19th 2013. I’ll buy those then. Otherwise I downloaded 2 of your other picks & have read all the rest ……….(All Great) by the way. I have similar reading tastes, I love sexy reads too. I so value your leads, reviews & personal feedback. Thanks again have a great week. A+

    • Glad you like the list! Hope you enjoy the two you got. I read the print copy of The Fifth Favor and I’m still thinking of it as I read another book..its that good. Thanks for stopping by Athena 🙂 xx

  2. Cara Thereon says:

    I’ll have to look into the ones I haven’t read. I really liked Comfort Food; it appealed on some many levels. have you read anything by Remittance Girl? Her book Gaijin is dark, but different.

  3. Atypical Midwestern Librarian says:

    I love your blog and have read several books on your recommendationg. I LOVED Fighting for Flight! Jonah was such a sweet alpha male. Not so much controlling as protective. Loved him. I did try This Man and I couldn’t get into that one. I kind of just hated every single charcter. I also read Protecting What’s His this week and liked it, too.

    • Thanks AML! 🙂 Both debuts were such a lovely surprise weren’t they?! I love when that happens. Oh I’ve been meaning to tell you that I finally got Book #1 of the KGI series! Unfortunately I have too many ARC ‘commitments’ so I’m hoping to start it next weekend… I’m so excited for it just based on you rec!

      • Atypical Midwestern Librarian says:

        Oh, yay! I hope you like it. Just remember to read it when you want a romantic suspense. There’s a few steamy scenes, but it’s not really erotica. That series is STILL stuck in my head.

      • I think I fully expect it to be more like the Kathleen Turner series… which is very mildly steamy… but that’s exactly what I’m looking for. Some respite from the smut 😉

      • Atypical Midwestern Librarian says:

        Oh, good. I’d feel bad if you bought it expecting something racier. She writes such likeable men.

  4. Pingback: Interview + Giveaway – C.J. Roberts author of The Dark Duet!!! | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

