Book Review – Raid (Unfinished Heroes Book #3) – Kristen Ashley

The blurb; Hanna Boudreaux has lived in the small town of Willow all her life. She’s sweet, cute and quiet. Hanna has a moment of epiphany when she realizes her crush for forever, Raiden Ulysses Miller, is not ever going to be hers. She sees her life as narrow and decides to do something about it.

Raiden Miller is the town’s local hero. A former Marine with the medal to prove his hero status, he comes home, shrouded in mystery. It takes a while, but eventually Hanna catches his eye. After all these years of Raid and Hanna living in the same town, the question is why? Is Raid interested in Hanna because she’s sweet and cute? Or does Raid have something else going on? 

I’m really sorry to say that this one just did not do it for me.

My first impression of Hanna, Oh please not this kind of heroine! Too girly and kept saying ‘ohmigod’. Gah! I was seriously tempted to skim… she was annoying me. I mean, I have nothing against girly girls but it should come as no surprise that Hanna is not up there with my favorite book heroines. Also bear in mind how much I LOVED Sylvie from Creed (Book #2) who was a total badass!

And while I usually immediately take to KA heroes, I didn’t with Raid. In fact I read the first 50% going on optimism alone since KA hasn’t produced a book I haven’t loved. But there’s a first for everything, unfortunately. There was one really loveable character; Hanna’s great grandmother… and wise too 🙂

“If you’re the kind of woman who can withstand the blaze of hellfire he’s got burning inside, he battles that and wins, you will know nothing for the rest of your life, no taste, no experience, not even the birth of your children that will be sweeter than the love he’ll have for you.”

I had heard that the book was angsty but I only started feeling the angst at about 66%.  Raid having seen his men die in war was understandably very traumatized. Hence Gram’s quote warning Hanna that Raid is tortured and it will come out to test her.

Raid is also working with Knight and Creed on the Nair case. If you haven’t read Knight  (Book #1) or Creed (Book #2) don’t worry, I still feel like KA’s books could be read as standalones though I will say that Knight was my favorite, followed by Creed so starting with Raid might be disappointing.

The book got much better in the second half. It became angstier and steamier and I started liking Hanna and Raid. And we all know Kristen Ashley writes fabulous epilogues. I will end by saying that Knight (Book #1) was really good in a super steamy way, Creed (Book #2) was really good in a super sweet way, but Raid…sigh… Raid just didn’t live up to my expectations.

3.5 Stars.

Amazon: Raid (Unfinished Heroes Book #3) by Kristen Ashley

raid

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Book Review – Raid (Unfinished Heroes Book #3) – Kristen Ashley

  1. Kelly says:

    I couldn’t agree more. I LOVE Kristen Ashley and her alpha men, but this story seemed off.

    • It really was off, the first half really not good, the second half became more Kristen Ashley … but not enough to save the story…

      • Kelly says:

        The biting thing was REALLY hot though…..

      • It was! Also what he said to her after the weird girl caught them…how nobody gets to hear what they tell each other….loved that 🙂

      • Kelly says:

        Me too! I have started her Rock Chick series. Have you read any? So far not really impressed romance wise. It is a great first book, so funny, but Lee the male counterpart, seemed like a bit part in the whole story. I wanted a little more from that and it makes me wonder if her whole series is like that.

      • I’ve read the Dream Man series which I liked and the Unfinished heroes (LOVED book 1!!!!) and I want to try colorado mountain series and the burg series…but i never read in order….i just pick out one and decide, so sweet dreams in colorado mountains and book 2 of the burg (i’ve been told they’re the best!) but lemme know what you think of Rock Chick, I’ve never really been inclined to read it…

      • Kelly says:

        The Burg series,, my favorite is At Peace, Cal’s story (2nd book) and Games of the Heart, Mike is hot but I really love the story between Mike’s daughter Reecee and Fin, such a sweet love story. Other than that my all time fav’s Motorcycle man and Sweet Dreams. I’ll keep you posted on the rest of RC if and when I decide to read another one. Right now I’m reading your recommendation of Protecting what’s his….so far hot!

      • Yeah everyone has told me about Cal’s story1 Now I can’t wait to read it! Also glad you’re enjoying Protecting What’s his…Derek is hot! 😉 Enjoy xxx

  2. mlynpeters says:

    Late in reading this BUT I LOVED Raid just a tiny bit less than the other two, but still a hot story! I really liked that the series have 3 very different stories! and when Raid says.. “I like to play…” oh he had me there! I really enjoyed all the characters & the loved Spot the cat! & of course Grandma !
    go for it & read them all including Raid!

Leave a Reply

