Book Review – Fighting for Flight (The Fighting Series Book #1) – J.B Salsbury

Sigh…what a beautiful story!

Sexy sexy Jonah Slade is a UFL fighter and a local celebrity. His celeb status is not only because of his success in the UFL, he’s also widely known in Vegas as a playboy. He lives his life from one girl to the next. As fast as he acquires them, he disposes them.

Raven Morretti is the unfortunate by-product of a prostitute and her pimp. Both her parents wanted nothing to do with her and she’s lived an unloved life. These two meet when Jonah hires Raven to work on restoring his car (she’s a mechanic). They both pretty much have eyes only for each other from the moment they meet. Everything is near perfect until Raven’s dad decides he wants to get re-acquainted with his daughter…

I fell in love with these two characters. Jonah, so protective of Raven, willing to protect her from her past that is clearly threatening their future. Definitely my kind of hero.

“Baby, I promise you that you’ll never want for physical contact again.” His big strong hands hold my head and he leans his forehead against mine. “I’ll always hold you when you’re scared.” He softly kisses my jaw. “Comfort you when you’re sad.” His lips brush against my cheeks. “Take care of you when you’re sick.” Tilting my head back, he kisses my forehead. He bends down and his hazel eyes narrow on mine. “I’ll make it my life’s mission to make up for every second you were neglected.”

It was seriously beautiful to see the lengths he was prepared to go for her. At one point in the book Raven listens to Halo by Beyonce and calls it her hearts anthem. I couldn’t agree more, the author couldn’t have found a more fitting song to this story.

♪♫ Remember those walls I built?
Well, baby they’re tumbling down
And they didn’t even put up a fight
They didn’t even make a sound
I found a way to let you in
But, I never really had a doubt
Standing in the light of your halo
I got my angel now ♪♫

Sigh…

The title of the book conveys multiple meaning. Jonah’s fighting career, the risk he has to take to save their relationship, even Raven’s docile nature which has to change if their relationship is to survive the test. And its a hard one, that drama in the last few chapters had my heart beating hard!

And that epilogue put a smile on my face. Just beautiful. Another great debut from a talented author! The book is a standalone and the series continues with Blake’s story in Fighting to Forgive.

4.5 Stars.

Amazon: Fighting for Flight by J.B Salsbury

fighting for flight

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, New Adult and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Book Review – Fighting for Flight (The Fighting Series Book #1) – J.B Salsbury

  1. Anonymous says:

    Jessy, another great review. I love these stories too.

  2. Kristin says:

    I really LOVED this book. You gave it a great review!!!!!

  3. Cristin Harber says:

    Reblogged this on Cristin Harber and commented:
    Here’s Jamie (JB Salsbury) on Jessys Book Club. OMG, what did I tell you about her debut novel. I know, my New Years resolution was to get back to blogging and I haven’t done that so well. Maybe my next post will be What Jamie Did Right. Cause Fighting for Flight is CLIMBING up the charts. #60 on Amazon Top Paid books right now. Get it Girl! And check out this review!

  4. Pingback: Interview + Giveaway – J.B Salsbury, author of Fighting for Flight!!! | Jessy's Book Club

  5. Laura Mendez says:

    I have not read this book… but it’s one on my TBR list. It sounds really good… I can’t wait for my eyes and brain to feast on it. I mean you had me from the begining… “Sexy sexy Jonah Slade is a UFL fighter”… who can go wrong with that? 😉

  6. Pingback: Name-That-Book Giveaway! | Jessy's Book Club

  7. Pingback: Blog Tour: Book Review – Fighting to Forgive (The Fighting Series Book #2) – JB Salsbury | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

