Book Review – Protecting What’s His (Line of Duty Book #1) – Tessa Bailey

I read the entire book with a smile on my face 🙂 It’s one of those books you hear nothing about, read and completely and totally fall in love. Then wonder why more people don’t know about it!

23 year old Ginger steals her mum’s money and moves from Nashville to Chicago with her 17 year old sister to start a new life. See her mum is an ex stripper and a drunk and though Ginger really doesn’t want to steal, she knows she has to get out of Nashville if she has any hope of giving her sister a normal life. Her move to Chicago brings her face to face with Lieutenant Derek Tyler…

God how sexy was Derek Tyler?! Seriously, if any man I knew spoke like him I’d be in trouble!

“Let me be clear, Ginger, since you insist on talking in circles. I want you underneath me in my bed. I want to be buried inside you so deep that I have to remind you of your own name. And I want those motherfuckers leering at you from the other side of the bar to smell me on you a week afterward.”

And so I was immediately loving Derek. The possessive, honest, alpha male…who doesn’t like that?! I did say he’s honest right? I love when the hero is completely honest with his feelings, no games, and that was Derek.

“Look at me. You own me. I’m owned.”

Sigh, loved him! And Ginger is such a strong heroine. Having grown up watching men use and abuse her mother, she swore never to let that happen to her. Her biggest worry is turning into her mother so she keeps men at arms length and as much as she wants Derek, she’s determined to keep their relationship strictly physical. But Derek is out to prove to her that their relationship is much much more.

This was such a sweet story, and really steamy too. It’s well written, no grammatical issues, no spelling mistakes…and believe me that’s rare these days! Oh and it’s a standalone… even rarer! I can’t believe this is the author’s debut. Some people just have it and Tessa Bailey just does.

4.5 stars.

Amazon: Protecting What’s His by Tessa Bailey

protecting tessa bailey

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Book Review – Protecting What’s His (Line of Duty Book #1) – Tessa Bailey

  1. Bennita says:

    I’m hooked, just from the dialogue. Downloading immediately. You find the best books out there to read. . You never let me down!

  2. Downloaded immediately too! Sounds good!

  3. Great Review. I love a good alpha male book!!

  4. Pingback: Author Interview + Giveaway – Tessa Bailey author of Protecting What’s His!!! | Jessy's Book Club

  5. Lynn Willis-Rummel says:

    I love a Dominate Male Romance. And from the reviews and your interview, I cannot wait to read the full story. It is hard to find good erotic romance that are more than a few pages.

  6. Pingback: Name-That-Book Giveaway! | Jessy's Book Club

  7. Pingback: Book Review – His Risk To Take (Line of Duty Book #2) – Tessa Bailey | Jessy's Book Club

  8. Pingback: Rants and Raves – Of Debut Authors, Promotion and Facebook… | Jessy's Book Club

  9. Sonia Lara says:

    Sounds good…. Downloading immediately! Thank you for the review 🙂

Leave a Reply

