Book Review – A Lusting Couple – Janet G

Let me start by saying that I was anticipating reading this one. I tried sticking to my TBR list order but eventually gave in. I knew a bit of what to expect from the synopsis and it all felt so decadent to me. Like I was about to write a letter to Penthouse Forum or something πŸ™‚

The book is non-fiction, the author’s story of her and her husband’s love affair with another couple. It begins with the author, Janet, receiving an email from a woman who says she is not only Janet’s husband’s secret admirer, she’s bisexual as well. Janet and Toby had long ago been part of a threesome (of sorts) and so after discussing it with Toby, they decide to meet the woman and her husband.

I was instantly drawn to the story. Not just because of my curiosity but also because I enjoyed the author’s style of writing. It was easy to picture Janet and I was of course drawn to Toby, I mean…

“He holds himself like what he is, a man so comfortable in his skin that his sensuality is innate, completely unstudied.”

So initially the book takes us back to when Janet and Toby started living together. Toby realizes that Janet is bisexual and Janet meets Sara. Years later, now married, kids off to college and of course after the email, Janet and Toby discuss the possibility of inviting two more people to their twosome.

I have to admit I think threesomes and foursomes for that matter always sound so coordinated in books (and this book was no different.) But i’ve always thought in reality it might be a bit of a mess; where do I start, what do I do, is he feeling neglected, is she feeling neglected… I made a mental note to ask the author if there was ever an awkward moment or its just my (surprisingly still slightly prudish) brain messing with me.

And ever wondered what the moments after having sex with a couple feel like? I would go for ‘awkward’ but not for these four.

“We are all taken aback by the intensity of what has just taken place. We’re not tense about it. We’re more the way neighbors are after a storm; concerned but generous, and full of wonder.”

Was the book steamy? yes! I enjoyed some scenes…really enjoyed them πŸ˜‰ but others were too descriptive. Also, I became wary of the author’s usage of terms like labia majora while describing some scenes.Β I don’t know why, but I don’t consider that term sexy. Though why I would consider cunt sexy is beyond me. I guess i’m weird like that πŸ™‚

My biggest worry about polyamorous relationships and what I thought of as inevitable was the question of jealousy. I kept wondering when it would rear its ugly head. There were a few aspects I thought would cause friction. For example I felt like the women had too deep a connection, and wondered if their husbands would be comfortable with it. The inevitable did happen, but for a different reason. But then 94% also happened (probably my favorite scene). Anyone who knows me knows I don’t blush but this scene had me close to doing just that!

I’ll end by saying that this is erotica, pure and simple…well.., not pure and simple πŸ˜‰ but don’t read it expecting erotic romance. Read it for the love of good erotica or simply if you’re curious about the lifestyle. But as Janet warns and I fully agree,

“It is our communal opinion that a foursome is not for everyone. We think it works for us for three reasons. One, we were happily married for many years before forming the foursome; two, we were happily married when we made the decision and, three; no one saw the foursome as a means of solving a problem. Maybe a foursome is perfect for us because what both couples brought to ours was already perfect.”

I give it 3.5 stars.

Amazon: A lusting Couple by Janet G.

Image

Finally i’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my honest review.

This entry was posted in Erotica and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Book Review – A Lusting Couple – Janet G

  1. wolfshadow says:

    I’m with you Jessy….I find the word cunt sexy in the erotic romance setting….much sexier the pussy even. So you’re not alone there. The term labia majora like a sterile hospital term..nothing sexy about it at all.

  2. Neema says:

    LOL to you both…I am just waking up you too… I need my coffee first before i can think straight off all these talk…Thanks Jessy for the honest review…i decided to do a TBR list but first i had to re-read Mr. Cavendish…

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I read this book last year and I really liked the writing style, too. The labia majorum thing threw me off a bit until I remembered Janet’s a nurse by profession. Anyway, her new one, Telling Stories is, in my opinion, even better. She posts stories on Booksie and they’re worth reading too. Love your reviews

    • Thanks Elizabeth! I’m not sure I ever knew she was a nurse which makes sense why she preferred these terms. I was actually planning on checking out the rest in the foursomes series…thanks for the recommendations! x

  4. wolfshadow says:

    Thanks Jessy for the names of the Mr. Cavendish series and the author’s name of the Knight book.

  5. Tricia says:

    Just want to say how glad I am to have found this site. I’m a fan of Janet G since I started reading the stories she posts on UK Short Fiction and she told me to check you out.. Glad to see her getting the credit she deserves. Anyway, like honest book reviews and will be back regularly.

  6. Rob says:

    I’m a guy that likes erotic book and has read quite a few. This is the first one I’ve ever heard of by someone who actually walks the walk. I’m going to read it and then come back here and tell you what I think.

Leave a Reply

