Rants and Raves – Of Character Interviews and Character Social Accounts

I will probably be taking some heat after writing this but this is something i’ve always thought about, so here goes.

I’ll start by saying that I now sorta get character interviews. I wasn’t a big fan in the beginning, i’m still not a big fan…actually the first time I read one, this was me:

hmm

I read a few more trying to figure out what about them excites bloggers and readers so much and while I eventually understood their appeal, I keep coming back to the same question; why not just interview the author and ask everything you want to know about that character? Especially since the author will be the one to ‘slip’ into that character anyway. But well, to each his own.

Then something weirder happened; character social accounts started appearing, mostly on twitter. I’m already unhealthily obsessing over some fictional men, isn’t it taking it a bit far pretending they’re real?! And believe me, i’ve seen a few of these.

Image

Ok picture this (just an example not something i’ve seen), you go to twitter and find a Christian Grey twitter account. And ‘he’ tweets, “Had so much fun with Ana yesterday at my parents, I even played the piano and sang again!” Then someone retweets adding, “awww! so happy Christian and Ana are still together!”

wth

Yeah……..I don’t even know what to say to that. But again, character interviews and character social pages are becoming increasingly popular. I’m I alone in thinking its a tad much, especially the latter? Why, pray tell, are people so keen on them?

*Disclaimer: The above GIFs are thanks to my favorite Tumblr site.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rants and Raves – Of Character Interviews and Character Social Accounts

  1. Bennita says:

    I find character social pages a little weird but oddly enough, I enjoy the character interviews. JR Ward has some fun character interviews. The whole interacting with a fictional character makes me feel like I’m taking it too far- but that’s just my opinion.

  2. I’m completely with you on this! I find it very odd when I see people tweeting with fictional characters, especially when say, Travis call some one doll and she says *swooning*. I just don’t get it. Don’t get me wrong, I’m in love with a ton of fictional men, but my fantasy life is in the books. I draw the line at actually talking and swooning over what’s very likely a woman pretending to be Kellan Kyle on twitter.

  3. I can understand the character interviews to an extent. It’s like getting “just a little bit more” of the book you enjoyed. But I’m with you on the character social accounts. That’s just moving a little too much into living in the fantasy. It’s problematic on both the author and the fans’ sides.

  4. Athena says:

    I’m with you on point. The character interviews promoting future events are FUN but ‘real time chats’ is a little weird. If I got a tweet from Jesse I would probably 1st faint…no really… then get creeped wondering who was really behind the tweet. All my swoons are private, sharing with a stranger is weird. I only share maybe with my husband and some of my girls.Of coarse U too JEM. love love love A+

    • I think if I got spam from a James Cavendish, I would save it for a few minutes, ok maybe a day and smile a bit. But lets hope sanity would kick in! The accounts are too weird!

      I mostly share with my girls..and of course the blog 🙂 ❤ 🙂 x

      • Athena says:

        Wait, let’s go back to getting spam from Sir James Cavendish. What a mind sweeping thought…..ummmmm …ok distracted, then back to real.
        Nice to hear from you. Fun…..Hey do U mind me using jem? Say it…. I don’t mean to offend especially if your not her or ARE. You’re probably tired of that. A+

      • jem? I don’t mind it at all thought I have no idea if it means anything…mostly because i’m not her…wait who’s her? I’m Jessy 🙂

Leave a Reply

