Book Review – Grounded (Up in the Air Book #3) – R.K Lilley

This was definitely MY most anticipated book of the year. When I got it I literally started jumping up and down on the couch Tom-Cruise-on-Oprah style.

My boyfriend: So i’m guessing you got Grounded

Me: Squeeeeee! (And i hardly ever squee, also he hardly ever knows what i’m reading let alone anticipating so this was HUGE!)

So the book begins exactly where Mile High (Book #2) left off. I had almost forgotten how much I like Bianca and was quickly reminded of it. She had so much to deal with, crazy father, tortured past and on top of it James’s annoying exes… ha, that scene with Jolene (cue eye roll!) Bianca was tough in the first two books but in this one she’s badass! And James is just as we remember him,

“Turn around and look at me.” James said after a long moment, his voice low and rough. It was insane, it was unreasonable, it was self destructive… and masochistic, but I grew wet at the sound of that violence-roughened voice. I turned around.

At the risk of sounding like a Masochist myself, I mean, who wouldn’t turn around for James Cavendish?!  But my favorite part in the whole book was everytime he helped her after a nightmare. God he was sweet!

“You’re my favorite subject, Love. I’ll start with your eyes. I fell in love with those first. One look was like a punch to the gut. You have these ageless eyes on such a young face. I just knew that you had seen bad things, lived bad things, and from the start, I knew that you could understand pain. Understand loneliness and despair. Understand feeling hopeless and helpless and alone. I fell in love with your eyes first because I looked into their depths and saw the other half of my soul.”

I loved this. For me it made so much sense when you look back to Book #1 and even much later in Book #3. Maybe i’m just a romantic sap but I loved it. I have never been one to have an unhealthy attachment to anything (ok, maybe Karaoke) but I certainly have developed an unhealthy attachment to a fictional character…I was swooning and smiling the entire time!

But you know what, the book to me, actually the trilogy, was more about Bianca than it was about James. About her healing from her past and learning to trust others again and I enjoyed that journey. Of course apart from James she still has perfect Stephan at her side (Stephan’s fans will be happy to know some scenes are in his POV!)

The author’s potrayal of the secondary characters is also just brilliant. I loved them! Bianca’s crew was my favorite…such a kinky bunch! And I could also do with a dose of Tristan (YU-MMY!), Frankie, Lana…ok you get the drift…I found them hilarious!

You might be wondering if the book is as steamy as the first two…the answer is yes, and kinky too. Think of it this way, R.K said that she wrote a scene in this book that made her blush and she was surprised by the blushing. I couldn’t help but wonder about that. I mean she gave us the posting trot scene in Book #2 (which has STUCK with me) so yes, I wondered what other kinky steamy stuff she’ll give us next. Then I read the scene she meant…it’s uhm…uh…well…can I just re-use the word kinky? *blush*

Ok, moving on..

These two are perfect together. I loved that Bianca held her own, even through Mr. Controlling, Mr. Reticent, Mr. Damaged…through the drama (of course there was drama…God was there drama!) they were perfect together. I can’t tell you how much I loved reading this trilogy, and how sad I am that it’s over. I’ve found a new favorite author in R.K Lilley and I can’t wait for what’s coming next. Remember in my interview with her she talked about a series whose characters will be introduced in Grounded? I’m convinced its Tristan and Danika and after reading the bits about them, i’m ready for an entire book…or 3 🙂

5 brilliant stars!!! And then some 🙂

I’d like to thank R.K Lilley for providing this ARC for my honest review.

Amazon: Grounded by R.K Lilley

Image

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Book Review – Grounded (Up in the Air Book #3) – R.K Lilley

  1. Bennita says:

    I almost don’t want to read this because I don’t want this series to end 😦 This series is soo freakin’ awesome! I need my Mr. Cavendish fix!

  2. Neema says:

    No No No Jessy, i hate you right now(With Love off course) but seriously, this is some great review…i am almost in tears… In fact, i am making a date this weekend with myself and R.K Lilley to go through the first 2 books as i get ready for book 3…I cannot believe the book is going to end…I feel like crying….What an emotional mess i am……Aarrrggggg and now i am really really excited for this book to come out….

    • I know how you feel, I was reading a book before I got this one, dropped that book, read Grounded, now i’m back to the previous book and I just can’t concentrate! Can’t get Mr. Beautiful out of my mind 😦 on the plus side R.K Lilley joins on Friday February 8 with an exclusive scene from Mile High told in James’ POV, and a giveaway of Grounded! ❤

      • Neema says:

        I am more than excited about this….i sure will be there…Secondly, i am going broke unless we figure out a way to make book reading fun…we need to start book loaning and the first book i will need as a loan is On Dublin Street, and BTW, I need to Loan you Collide by Gail McHugh….That book is just amazing….Anyway back to Mr. Cavendish…I am always interested to hear what Mr. Beautiful has to say in that little head of his….I think i will have a very good weekend….Can’t wait for Friday…Calender Marked….

      • Hi Neema, i’ve spoken to friends who wanted me to start a lending forum. Unfortunately lending is impossible outside the US, i’ll think of a way to form an inclusive forum where lending is possible…

  3. MJ Fryer says:

    Sounds just wonderful and I just cannot wait for it to come out. Such a great series that I really didn’t even want to start at first but then I was hooked. And that will be me as well, taking it slow at the end and then rereading a zillion more times. Thanks for the review.

    • Consolation being, its a long book (Over 450 pages!). Took me about two days (and I have a day job!) but i’m crazy and I didn’t get enough sleep 🙂 now i’m wondering why I didn’t stop and savor it…but re-reading has been scheduled 🙂

  4. Pingback: My Favorite Books – 2012 | Jessy's Book Club

  5. Pingback: Upcoming Giveaway – Grounded by R.K Lilley!!!! | Jessy's Book Club

  6. Tess says:

    Eeps!! Your review got me even more excited!! 5 more days to go!! I.CAN’T.WAIT.!! >.<

  7. Jacqui Bryce says:

    I am not ashamed to admit that I also have become some what obsessed with this series and especially my James 😀 … I am beyond excited for the 3rd book and anything that R K Lilley writes.

  8. Pingback: EXCLUSIVE JAMES CAVENDISH POV + GROUNDED GIVEAWAY (Up in the Air Series by R.K Lilley) | Jessy's Book Club

  9. Tonya Allen says:

    Thank you for your review. This is really bittersweet! I’m about to pop to read Grounded BUT it’s the end! If R.K. Lilley wants to write 10 more books about James and Bianca I am fine with that!! HINT! HINT!! Thank you again for your review!!

    • My thoughts exactly! Maybe we should petition for a James and Bianca novella every three months 🙂 But her new series which she says is tentatively titled “Bad Things” sounds exciting to me already!

  10. Andrea Krause says:

    Thanks for the great review. I just can’t wait for Grounded…so excited!

  11. Pingback: Name-That-Book Giveaway! | Jessy's Book Club

  12. Pingback: Rants and Raves – Of Favorite Female Characters… | Jessy's Book Club

  13. Pingback: Book Review + Giveaway – Bad Things (Tristan and Danika #1) – R.K Lilley | Jessy's Book Club

  14. Pingback: Book Review + Giveaway – Rock Bottom (Tristan and Danika #2) – RK Lilley | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

