Book Review – The Pleasures of Winter – Evie Hunter

Another one for those searching for books like ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ 🙂

Blurb – When reporter Abbie Marshall needs to escape Honduras, a private jet carrying a Hollywood A-lister is her only way out. She has a ride home with Irish actor Jack Winter – notorious womanizer and all round bad boy. Abbie is shaken to the core by Winter’s blazing beauty and provocative mind. After the plane’s nose-dive into the remote rainforest forces them to fight for survival, Abbie catches tantalizing glimpses of the complicated man behind the image. And the more she sees of him, the more he touches some primal part of her that she is determined to suppress. 

The book starts out somewhat Fifty… you know, the unprepared interview…but then quickly moves on to the Honduran jungle where Abbie discovers she just might be a submissive (courtesy of Jack’s spanking) 🙂

As I read on I discovered many aspects of the book that were so Fifty; the unprepared interview, the online messages, the contract, the playroom…but… don’t be too quick to dismiss the book just yet. I loved the drama behind it with the Honduran connection. I didn’t mind the similarities that much…I thought I would but I guess I’m one of those not yet ready to rid Christian Grey and men like him out of my book life…and Jack Winter is that to a T!

I found the BDSM aspect light… would have loved more scenes in the playroom. Also Abbie was not a good sub…too…confrontational (for lack of a better term). I wished at least during ‘play’ she would be more submissive.

I think I liked Abbie and Jack more in the jungle…after that I feel like everything else happened too fast; falling in love, falling out of it, falling back into it etc… All in all the book was ok. I did love the steamy scenes and my love for a BDSM book, light or not, might never cease.

I give it 3.5 Stars.

Amazon: The Pleasures of Winter by Evie Hunter

Image

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Review – The Pleasures of Winter – Evie Hunter

  1. divinecaroline says:

    The jungle angle sounds intriguing!

  2. Pingback: What to Read after Fifty Shades of Grey | Jessy's Book Club

  3. LOL it was…and so are your rhyming skills 🙂

  4. divinecaroline says:

    🙂

  5. Pingback: Free Kindle Books :) | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

