AUTHOR INTERVIEW AND GIVEAWAY – R.K LILLEY – UP IN THE AIR SERIES (CLOSED)

I have posted these two books (In Flight and Mile High) on every list I could come across, both here and on Goodreads. The books are in my Favorite Books of 2012 List, my What to Read after Fifty Shades of Grey list, my Best Romance Books of 2012 list…let’s just say I LOVED these books! I was incredibly elated when the author agreed to an interview AND she’s giving away 2 e-copies of In Flight and 2 of Mile High!!! Check below on how to win a copy.

***

Jessy: Welcome to Jessy’s Book Club! Tell us a bit about yourself.

R.K: I’m happily married to the love of my life.  My husband and I have been devoted to each other for fourteen years now.  We have two ridiculously beautiful boys, ages three and seven, who keep me on my toes, day and night.  I’ve been an avid reader since I can remember.  I can recall being ten years old and working on my epic fantasy saga, and onto writing a grand romance at fourteen.  There have always been stories in my head.

Writing is such a labor of love for me.  It’s a creative outlet that I absolutely need(possibly more than sleep)  There’s nothing I would rather do for a living.  I feel so lucky to get to do it every day.

Jessy: As a first class flight attendant, did you actually meet a James Cavendish type, or was the character a mix of different people you came across, are just your imagination?

R.K: I’d say that the inspiration for James Cavendish is a mix of things, including my imagination.  Two qualities, though, he got directly from my husband.  The first being that he says things in my ear on a regular basis that still manage to shock me, and if you’ve read my books, that’s quite a feat 🙂  The second is that he’s always honest, sometimes too much so.  If I don’t want a totally honest answer about a new haircut, I don’t ask him, lol.

Jessy: You get to live it and write it…lucky lucky! Ok, now a naughty one, did you ever catch passengers attempting to join the Mile High Club? 

R.K: Yes!  You would not believe how often that actually happens.  My specific airline had the policy of just leaving the couples alone, as long as they weren’t having sex out in the open.  And I will also say that my husband was a passenger on many of my redeye flights, when he joined me on my layovers.  That’s all I’ll say about that 🙂

Jessy: Ha! We’ve read what happens between James and Bianca on those flights! But now you’ve got me wondering if the policy exists on other airlines…but let me not digress!

‘Controlling/Possessive men’ is the most searched term on this blog. What do you think it is with women loving men like James Cavendish?

R.K: Men that take control are sexy.  Nothing is more attractive to me than a man that knows what to do with himself.  I want the man controlling the chess board, not the pawn being played.  Power is seductive.  And the very idea of possession is a romantic one, under the right circumstances.  Why I adore James so much is not just because he’s a dominant man, but also because he’s complicated, and the more you dig, the better it gets.

Jessy: I feel like most books in this genre consist of Alpha Male types and women who tend to be pushovers. Though James is the one holding the flogger 🙂 Bianca is definitely the one holding the reins in this relationship. Was it a conscious decision to create a strong female? And why?

R.K: It was conscious in some ways.  I feel like you couldn’t survive the things she has without being strong.  I felt like, to be a real character, she had to have that strength.  Bianca is very self-aware.  She’s been through hell and come out a stronger person for it, but she’d be the first to admit that it’s also made her guarded.  She’s uncompromising in a lot of ways because she feels that it’s the only way to survive.  This has shaped the dynamic of their relationship in interesting ways.  James is by no means a pushover, but he’s made some very big concessions as he’s come to understand her.  It’s pretty clear that James would do anything to keep her, and she does need control with certain aspects of her life, which is why you see her calling a lot of the shots outside of the bedroom.

Jessy: Were you surprised by the success of the series?

R.K: Oh yes!  I mean, I loved the books, but it’s my debut in the genre, and I did literally no promotion for it.  Some wonderful women just happened to get a hold of the book, and they spread the news.  The community for this genre is like no other.  The support has been so unexpected and I’m still constantly amazed by it.

Jessy: Do you remember the actual moment you realized the series has really taken off?

R.K: For me it was just hearing how enthusiastic the readers were about these books.  Someone wrote me and told me they had a girl crush on Bianca just a few days after the first book’s release.  I loved that!  I thought, Me too!  Finally I’m not the only one!

Jessy: 🙂 You’ve written Urban Fantasy and Erotic Romance, any plans of venturing into other genres?

R.K: Definitely.  I don’t think I could ever be a one genre author.  Always in the back of my mind is an epic dark fantasy series, and different sub-genres in romance are certainly on the table, as well.  Hell, who knows, I might even write a YA novel one of these days, lol:)  I wouldn’t rule anything out.

Jesse: What’s next for R.K Lilley?

R.K: Grounded will be released on February 12th, and about a month later I will release a novella about the character, Lana.  After that I will be working on another erotic romance series, tentatively titled, Bad Things.  The characters for this will be introduced in Grounded.  They’re a mess.  I look forward to straightening them out.  I’ll be curious to see if people can spot them right away when they’re reading Grounded.

Later in the year, hopefully late summer, will be the second book in my Heretic Daughters series.  You will be seeing many more books from me.  I have no plans of slowing down.  Just the opposite:)

Jessy: God I hope so! I’m already looking forward to Bad Things! But first things first, February 12, 2013 is the release date for Grounded (Book #3 in the Up in the Air Series)… mark it on your calendar people!

Thank you R.K!

***

GIVEAWAY

Image

The giveaway is open internationally. All you have to do is leave a comment below (feel free to state which book you’d prefer of the two). While you’re at it, why don’t you head over to Jessy’s Book Club on Facebook and like the page 🙂 

Four winners will be chosen on Tuesday 15th January. Kindly remember that these are Kindle copies. If you don’t have a Kindle Device you can download the free kindle app to your laptop, ipad or phone.

Competition closes on Tuesday 15 January 2013 at 17:00 EST.

Follow the author – Twitter: @Authorrklilley

– Goodreads: R.K Lilley

-Website: http://www.rklilley.com/

***

Congratulations KF, Jessica, Michelina and Susana!

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to AUTHOR INTERVIEW AND GIVEAWAY – R.K LILLEY – UP IN THE AIR SERIES (CLOSED)

  1. divinecaroline says:

    love LOVE this interview!!! I can’t believe they have a policy like that in planes!! Love her honesty and I soooo need to read these books.

  2. Bennita says:

    MUST READ NOW! I’m not kidding, pick up your Kindle immediately and download this book. I can usually read two or three books at a time, so I planned on reading In Flight along with another book this weekend. Well, any other book is going to have to wait until I finish In Flight and Mile High. I’m already half way through In Flight and it’s so addictive! I’ve never tucked my kids in bed so fast just so I can read. It’s a cross between 50 Shades and Bared To You. You’ll love the characters because they are so real and the sex is HOT. Need I say more? Oh, one more thing – READ THE BOOK!

  3. Anallely says:

    Loved In Flight !!! I cant wait for the up comming books!!!

  4. Jen McNamara says:

    I loved the series! I couldn’t possibly pick one book over the other!

  5. mrichards327 says:

    As always I enjoyed your insights in your earlier reviews of “In Flight” and “Mile High”, so I had to come back and check out your interview with RK Lilley. I’m glad to hear she has new releases coming out and a new series for us, the readers, to enjoy.
    So, if I may be so bold, and I am lucky enough to win in your giveaway could I please make my choice “In Flight”. I’ll be checking back soon to see what’s new.

  6. karen says:

    loved the interveiw but loved the books even more love all the people evenmelissa because we all know someone like that lol

  7. Lisa M Harley says:

    Can’t wait for more books!

  8. Kelly says:

    I love this series to pieces!!! I would love to win a copy of “Mile High” please. =)

  9. Michelina says:

    Awesome interview !!!! Can’t wait to read this series. I have book #1 on my kindle so if I win I would like Mile Hight please 🙂

  10. Amy E. says:

    LOVED both books! Can not wait until Grounded comes out.. If I win either copy I would like Mile High, because I borrowed that one on my kindle and do not own it yet. I really want to add Mile High to my collection 🙂

  11. Susana says:

    Great interview!! Loved everything about In Flight, the plot, character development, and those sweet moments between James and Bianca.
    I would love to win Mile High.

  12. Mary Doherty says:

    I just love finding new authors that I haven’t read before! I will be heading over to Amazon.com to check both books out. Thanks for introducing me to a new author.

  13. Cindy says:

    Great review and great giveaway, thank you!! I’ve only read In Flight that I would love to win Mile High and read more about James 🙂

  14. K F says:

    I enjoyed reading the interview. I always love to hear insight from the authors on what drives their writing. In Flight is on my TBR list and I would love to get a copy of it.

  15. Anonymous says:

    I absolutely love this series! It’s absolutely fabulously written and by far, my most favorite series with a dominant male. I don’t even have a preference for a book, they’re both so great.

  16. ive heard great things about this series!I would love to read In Flight

  17. Lynn van Nieuwburg says:

    Bravo R.K. on a fantastic series! Waiting with bated breath for “Grounded” to be released.

  18. Kath Imlach says:

    I haven’t read them yet, but they will be my next read –

  19. Debi Davis says:

    R.K. is a wonderful author and I absolutely can’t wait to read Grounded! Love the interview, keep up the great work!!!!!

  20. Jessica P says:

    Thank you for the giveaway! If I won I would want the 1st book In Flight. This book has been on my TBR I want to read it so bad!! 🙂

  21. Sally says:

    Such a cool author! I really like her honesty…sounds like somebody i’d love to chill with 🙂 Just recently finished In Flight…would love a copy of Mile High..

  22. Carolyn says:

    Just came across this interview and giveaway! Please please a copy of In Flight!

  23. Natalie says:

    Bad Things…. sounds like my next addiction! Thank you R.K Lilley for the awesome books and interview!

  24. beckyluck says:

    I am so glad I found these books, I LOVE THEM!!

  25. beckyluck says:

    Love these books and all the characters…thanks for the great interview!!

  26. M M says:

    This is a fantastic series! I’m so excited to read Grounded. I know it will be superb!

  27. Mimi says:

    Love these books! Looking forward to Grounded!

  28. Jansen says:

    Would love to get my hands on In Flight!

  29. Alexandra says:

    I’d love to get Mile High. I’ve yet to read these books, but they’re so on my list. Thanks for the chance! (:

  30. Jessica P says:

    I have liked your fb page and follow your blog by email 🙂 love getting suggestions on books. This series has been on my TBR and I really want to read it! If I won I want In Flight 🙂

  31. Pingback: Read with Us – R.K Lilley Month! | Jessy's Book Club

  32. Pingback: Book Review – Grounded (Up in the Air Book #3) – R.K Lilley | Jessy's Book Club

  33. Pingback: Upcoming Giveaway – Grounded by R.K Lilley!!!! | Jessy's Book Club

  34. Pingback: Rants and Raves – Of Favorite Female Characters… | Jessy's Book Club

  35. Pingback: Book Review + Giveaway – Bad Things (Tristan and Danika #1) – R.K Lilley | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

