AUTHOR INTERVIEW AND GIVEAWAY – ALEATHA ROMIG -CONSEQUENCES SERIES (CLOSED)

If you’ve visited my blog before then you know how much I loved CONSEQUENCES and TRUTH by Aleatha Romig! (Check my Reviews: Consequences here and Truth here.)

Both books are in my best of 2012 list AND the author has been voted #1 “New Author to Read” on Goodreads July, August, September, October and December 2012! So imagine my elation when she agreed to an interview 🙂 PLUS, she’s generously giving away an e-copy of either Consequences or Truth to FOUR lucky readers! (This is an international giveaway, check below on how to win!)

***

Jessy: I’m so excited to have you at Jessy’s Book Club! Welcome… and please tell us a bit about yourself.

Aleatha: Thank you for having me, this is going to be fun!! I’m wild and crazy – not!

I’ve been married to my high school sweetheart for 26 years, we have 3 children who are growing too fast and I work full-time as a dental hygienist. I also have a hobby, one that’s been taking more and more of my time, as of late. I enjoy writing – very much! I have a great life, no complaints; however, I love getting lost in the lives of my characters. This hobby is more addicting than anything else I’ve ever tried – I can’t get enough!

Jessy: More books for us! 🙂 We know about your day job (via twitter) how many hours do you dedicate to writing?

Aleatha: The amount of time I spend writing varies. When the storyline is rushing full-speed through my head, I can’t write enough! I take my laptop to work and spend my lunch hour typing away! I write through the night. TRUTH was mostly written between mid-night and five in the morning. I would make myself “take a nap” before my alarm. No one wants their dental hygienist falling asleep while she has sharp things in their mouth!

The best answer: not enough. I would love to have at least five hours a day totally devoted to writing. I have found lately I spend many hours interacting with readers. It is so new to me, I truly enjoy hearing (reading) their reactions and thoughts! Then there is my family, they like to eat and have clean clothes… there are just NOT enough hours in a day.

Jessy: When did you first come up with the idea of Consequences and how did it come about?

Aleatha: My life changed in 2008. Our oldest son graduated high school, went to Purdue University and my husband lost his job. He went to a third shift job. In 2009 our daughter left for Hanover College. This left me home with our youngest every night. At the time he went to bed early. I was lonely. My busy house was now tomb quiet!

I had a “thought” a “vision” of the opening scene in CONSEQUENCES. On a whim I decided to write it down. The more I thought about it, the more I wanted to know. Who is this woman? Why is she there? How did she get there? Who is her captor? Why did he choose her? The more I questioned the more I wanted to know… I left my quiet house every evening and immersed myself in this fictional world. CONSEQUENCES was my therapy!

Jessy: Truth is not as dark as Consequences was, was this a conscious decision you made to give it a lighter feel? And if so why?

Aleatha:  I don’t think it was a conscious decision. I don’t plan my books. When I start, I know the beginning and the ending. How I get from point A to point B is a journey. Each time I sit down at the keyboard I’m as shocked and amazed at the twists and turns as my readers. So, no, I didn’t set out to make TRUTH less dark. I let the characters lead the way; and that is the way they took me.

Jessy: The end of Truth is still haunting me…so let’s talk book #3. Convicted is set for late 2013, early 2014….why the long wait?

Aleatha: Anticipation makes the heart grow fonder!

CONVICTED isn’t done. I promise I’m not hording it on my laptop refusing to show it to anyone. It is still a work in progress. My series is complicated and multi-layered. I take a lot of time making sure all the pieces fit together. I don’t want to rush CONVICTED and have it not be right. I want my readers to love book 3 as much or more than 1 & 2!

Jessy: Since I’m based in Europe, I have to ask, any plans on making the series available in other languages?

Aleatha: That is an excellent question and one my agent and I have been discussing. We’ll see.

Jessy: I had a hard time categorizing this series. How would you categorize it?

Aleatha: When I wrote CONSEQUENCES, I categorized it as “Psychological Thriller”. I was told in order to be a “Romance” there must be a HEA. Well, here’s a secret, CONSEQUENCES (book 1) does NOT end with a HEA!

However, I have more recently been told that because the relationship between Tony and Claire drives the series, it is a “Romance” — NOT your typical romance. The CONSEQUENCES Series is now categorized as: “Contemporary Dark Romance/ Thriller”!!! There – it’s official!

Jessy: I’ll make sure to add that category to my reviews! Ok, I know for sure I’d like to see you write dark erotica. Do you plan on venturing into this or more genres?

Aleatha: Ha ha! I’ve been pondering this question now for days! Other genres… well, as I just said, I’m making my own genre with my series, so sure – why not?

I love to write and I love to read. I do enjoy reading erotica – dark erotica? I guess I can like some of that too… write it? I don’t know – do you think anyone would read it???

Jessy: I can definitely see you writing dark erotica and I can assure you Consequences readers will love it! Thank you so much for stopping by! I CANNOT wait for Convicted!

Aleatha: Thank you Jessy, for having me on your blog, and telling the world about CONSEQUENCES, TRUTH and CONVICTED. It has been so fun! Now, let’s giveaway some books!!! Aleatha

***

GIVEWAY!!!

consequencestruth1

The giveaway is open internationally. All you have to do is leave a comment below (feel free to state which book you’d prefer of the two) and four winners will be chosen on Sunday 6 January. Here’s the deal, these are digital books and the lucky four will get to chose the e-retailer they use (e-pub or mobi). Remember you don’t have to have a kindle or nook device, you can download the free kindle app to your laptop, ipad or phone.

Competition closes on Sunday 6 January 2013 at 18:00 EST.

Follow the author- Twitter: @AleathaRomig

– Goodreads: Aleatha Romig

-Website: http://www.consequencesbyromig.com/

***

Congratulations Caroline, Candace, Liliana and Angela!

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Dark Romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to AUTHOR INTERVIEW AND GIVEAWAY – ALEATHA ROMIG -CONSEQUENCES SERIES (CLOSED)

  1. Yay! I’m first! Pick me! pick me! 🙂 Would love a copy of Truth 🙂

  2. divine caroline :) says:

    Love the interview!! I would love a copy of Consequences!!! Can’t wait to read it after the interview and your review!

  3. Bennita says:

    OK, I feel so guilty for not reading these books. To be honest I have never heard of Alethea and I just discovered her through Jessy’s bookclub and I’m glad I did. These books sound very intriguing just from the bits if info I read and I’m definitely adding them to my to be read shelf.

  4. Allie Mathews says:

    I want to read these soooo bad. I haven’t read them yet, so I’d like to start with Consequences!!!! 😀 ❤

  5. shanda says:

    Great interview!!!!!
    I would love a copy of truth I plan on reading consequences this weekend.

  6. Sherry says:

    Love the interview! Two of my favorite books, and eagerly anticipating Convicted!

  7. angelakeene says:

    I’ve been meaning to read these books. As to why I haven’t I am really not sure, but I hope to very soon.

  8. Yvonne says:

    i would love to read Consequences. Pick me Jessy…pick me 🙂 i love your blog and i’m almost certain i will love Alethea.

  9. Manisha K says:

    What an awesome author interview…I would love a copy of consequences!

  10. ive heard great things about this series!

  11. lilili79 says:

    I’ve read great reviews about this series. I’m starting Consequences this weekend. Can’t wait to read what this story has in store 🙂

  12. Jill says:

    Me! Pick Me!

  13. N a says:

    I’m new to the site and this new author…excited to be a part of this great opportunity is love the first of the two books if I’m lucky enough thanks

  14. i reeeeeaallyyy want Truth!!! I already have Consequences-so if i got it, the book nr. 1 wouldn’t feel so lonely on the bookshelf 😉

  15. Paula Novack says:

    I would love a copy of Truth! I love both books, but I borrowed Truth from a friend, so I need my own copy:). Kindle edition please

  16. Shelly says:

    I would love to be entered in the contest. I’ve never read her books but I’ve heard good things about them!

  17. Sydney says:

    Sweet! I’m in:)

  18. candace wood says:

    Nice interview Jessy! These two are on my to-read list, I’ve heard great things. 🙂 I’m so impressed that Aleatha Romig was able to find time to write with such a busy life – it’s inspiring!

  19. Pingback: Win Consequences and Truth (Contemporary Dark Romance books) by Aleatha Romig | Jessy’s Book Club | 4 Winners | ends 6 January 2013 | All Things Bloggy

  20. Kim Milliken says:

    I’ve only read Consequences thus far. I’m not sure if I can handle the TRUTH yet. hahaha

  21. I would love to enter this giveaway, but I have both in eBook format already. 😦 But I will pass this around on my FB page, FB like page and Twitter!

  22. Stephanie Galbraith says:

    Pick Me 😀

  23. Shaunda Eppes says:

    These books sound awesome. I would love a copy of Consequences. Thank you.

  24. susan smoaks says:

    i would prefer truth but i will enjoy either one

  25. Amy Trevathan says:

    Consequences and Truth are so well written! I read both twice in one week! I am truly addicted! Can not wait until Convicted is reklased! Thank you Aleatha for sharing Tony and Claire with us!

  26. Anonymous says:

    Both reviews sound excellent but I would love to read consequences!! Thanks!!

  27. yanelis martinez says:

    pick me please love to read

  28. Marissa M says:

    would love to read one of these books, I am an avid reader of all genres!

  29. Buddy Garrett says:

    Great interview. Both of these books sound great. Since I have to choose I would like to start with Consequences. Thanks.

  30. cookster77 says:

    Pick me! I would love the book Truth

  31. they both look like a treasure to have in my home thank you for the chance to do so

  32. yanireads says:

    Nice review and thanks for the reminder! 😉 I would love to read this, sounds good!!

  33. Nice interview and I would love a copy of Consequences.

    CharlieGurl57@aol.com

  34. Pingback: Blog Tour: Book Spotlight + Teaser – Consequences by Aleatha Romig | Jessy's Book Club

  35. Pingback: Cover Reveal – Convicted (Consequences #3) – Aleatha Romig | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

