Book Review – Beautiful Bastard – Christina Lauren

So this book started out steamy enough! Wow (fanning self!) I’ll definitely never get enough of this erotic romance subgenre 🙂

So the story centres on Chloe and Bennett (told on both their POVs). Chloe is described as whip-smart, ambitious and on her way to an MBA. She’s interning for Bennett Ryan who is described as exacting, blunt, inconsiderate—and completely irresistible, hence the title ‘Beautiful Bastard.’ The two clash from the beginning but eventually can’t fight the attraction they feel for each other.

The book is super super steamy, with lots and lots of panty ripping 😉 I definitely loved those scenes and where they took place. However, the story didn’t immediately grab me. Maybe it’s the whole arguing as foreplay idea, I don’t know. I know I wished there was something a bit more complex in the way the two got together.

As I read on I actually started to worry that this will be all steam and not much substance. I probably had too high expectations of the book (it had garnered over 2 million views on fan fiction sites) so I expected it to wow me from beginning to end.

Also, it has been some time since I read a book with a woman as…feisty…as Chloe. I actually wasn’t sure I liked it at first but eventually it became refreshing …and fun 🙂 After that initial reaction, I seriously started warming towards these two. And of course I fell for Bennett Ryan…hot alpha male type? Yes please!

I’m not sure when I got sucked in, but I eventually found myself enjoying it, worry free and looking for alone time (Christmas Eve) to read read read! And by the end of the book, I was sighing and swooning 🙂 It’s a light sexy read, predictable, but steamy enough. I think I’ll even add it to the ‘what to read after Fifty Shades of Grey‘ list. I give it 3 Stars.

Amazon: Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren

Image

Finally, I would like to thank NetGalley and Simon&Schuster for providing this ARC for my honest review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – Beautiful Bastard – Christina Lauren

  1. Pingback: What to Read after Fifty Shades of Grey | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

