My Favorite Books – 2012

This year I’ve read some awesome books, which of course gave me the inspiration to start this blog. The books may or may not have been released in 2012 but I read and loved them this year 🙂

So in no particular order, starting with series (not stand alone books.)

The Dark Duet: Captive in the Dark and Seduced in the Dark by C.J Roberts. <– “Some stories aren’t black and white.” They’re about abduction, slavery, Stockholm Syndrome and so much more in between. Caleb was sold into slavery when he was young and since then has been seeking revenge on the man he deems responsible. To do this, he kidnaps Olivia Ruiz who he must train to become a slave. Caleb is as sadistic as it gets but Olivia finds herself attracted to him. If ever there was a dark read, this is it….and I LOVED it! Plus book #2 is even darker and more exciting! Please be warned that the book contains very disturbing situations, dubious consent, strong language, and graphic violence.

Favorite Quote: “Caleb was a strange person, cruel and inhuman; a monster, and yet, at other times, he seemed so capable of something like caring. He made me cry and scream and shake with fear and nearly a split second later he could make me almost believe he wasn’t responsible for any of it. He could hold me and make me feel safe. How was that possible?” – LivvieCaptive in the Dark.

ImageImage

Consequences Series by Aleatha Romig <– Another dark read! For these I do have reviews so please check the reviews; Consequences and Truth. Again be warned, the first book is dark with non consensual sex and heavy violence. The second book is much lighter.

Favorite Quote: “She didn’t know how she could be feeling this way about him. After all, he kidnapped her. He hurt her, but when he was good… … when he is good, he is so good. – Claire, Consequences. 

ImageImage

The Original Sinners series by Tiffany Reisz <– I have all 3 books but have only read book #1 (The Siren) which I loved! This is BDSM erotica and an emphasis on the S&M. The story is about Nora though there are more central characters. The only warning i’ll give is that the S&M is not mild so if you’re not into that consider yourself warned. However I loved the book and I hear book #3 is the darkest so far! I can’t wait to get to it!

Favorite Quote: “Kid, Søren could eat you for breakfast and not even need to chew. Don’t ever fuck with a sadist, Wesley. For Søren, torture’s just foreplay.” “Why did you stay with him?” he’d whispered. Nora had grinned at him, and she saw a new fear in Wesley’s sweet brown eyes. “I like foreplay.” –Nora and Wesley, The Siren.

Image

Up in the Air Series – R.K Lilley <— loved loved loved this Erotic BDSM Romance series. I’ve got my review here for Book #1 and #2 and my review here for Book #3. James Cavendish, billionaire who’s more a dominant but has a sadistic side and Bianca a flight attendant, a submissive with a masochistic side. Match made in BDSM heaven 🙂  But its even more than that, they both come from bad childhoods but this is more her coming to terms with hers. And did I mention she has the coolest best friend?

Favorite Quote: “I’m going to ruin you. I”ll be your first, and I’ll fuck you so thoroughly that I’ll be your last, too. You won’t want any other man after I’ve gotten my hands on you. Every last inch of you.” – James, In Flight.

in flight n mile high

 

And now to stand-alone books. Though some might be part of a series, they can be read as stand-alones.

Broken by Megan Hart <– Erotica/Erotic Romance, review here

Favorite Quote: Right and wrong, good and bad, the lines are blurred when it comes to matters of the heart. Anyone who has never felt that has no right to judge, and anyone who ever has won’t have to. – Sadie, Broken

broken

Control by Charlotte Stein <– Erotica/Erotic Romance, review here.

Favorite Quote: Instead he tells me that he’s glad I came to find him. That I should always come to find him. That if I were the one to run away from him, he’d have the guts to come and find me. He’d always come and find me. – Madison, Control

Image

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire <– Contemporary Romance, review here.

Favorite Quote: “You can’t tell me what to do anymore, Travis! I don’t belong to you!” In the second it took him to turn and face me, his expression had contorted into anger. He stomped toward me, planting his hands on the bed and leaning into my face. “WELL I BELONG TO YOU!” The veins in his neck bulged as he shouted, and I met his glare, refusing to even flinch. He looked at my lips, panting. “I belong to you.” -Abby and Travis, Beautiful Disaster

Image

Knight by Kristen Ashley <— Erotic Romance, light BDSM, review here.

Favorite Quote: “You’re perfect, baby.” I blinked. Then I whispered, “Knight-  “No, Anya, no fucked up shit outta that sweet mouth. I’m not gonna listen to it and I’ll work my balls off, I don’t care if it takes decades, to make you stop even thinkin’ it. Instead, you gotta know that every second I spend with you it becomes more and more clear that you were made for me. A gift I don’t deserve, didn’t earn but I’m not giving it back.” –Knight and Anya, Knight

Image

Undeniable by Madeline Sheehan <— Contemporary/Erotic Romance, review here.

Favorite Quote: “I damn well know a good thing when I see it and babe all I’ve ever been able to fuckin’ see is you. Not many chances a man has in his lifetime to do right, to earn the love of a good woman, and to get a taste of true freedom. And babe, for me, you’re all fuckin’ three. Have been for a good while now.” – Deuce, Undeniable.

Image

Lastly, I have to mention these two books for still managing to rock my world 🙂

This Man – Jodi Ellen Malpas <– Erotic Romance (I can’t get those steamy scenes with Jesse Ward out of my head!)

Favorite Quote: “I’m sorry,” he whispers softly…his expression is pure torment… “I lied, I’m sorry. I told you, I can’t stay away… I need to have all of you, Ava. Say I can have all of you.” – Jesse, This Man

Image

On Dublin Street by Samantha Young <– Contemporary/Erotic Romance (and another man I can’t get out of my head, Braden Carmichael)

Favorite Quote:  “I know you love me, Jocelyn, because there’s no fucking way I can be this much in love with you, and not have you feel the same way. It’s not possible.” -Braden, On Dublin Street.

Image

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Dark Erotica, Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My Favorite Books – 2012

  1. Pingback: A Very Horsemen Wedding (Undeniable Bonus Scene) – Madeline Sheehan « Jessy's Book Club

  2. Pingback: A beautiful Thing (An Original Sinners Christmas Story) – Tiffany Reisz « Jessy's Book Club

  3. Pingback: Book Review – Broken – Megan Hart « Jessy's Book Club

  4. Pingback: GIVEAWAY ALERT! « Jessy's Book Club

  5. Pingback: AUTHOR INTERVIEW AND GIVEAWAY – ALEATHA ROMIG (CONSEQUENCES SERIES) « Jessy's Book Club

  6. Pingback: Upcoming Interview and Giveaway – R.K Lilley author of the Up in the Air Series! « Jessy's Book Club

  7. Pingback: AUTHOR INTERVIEW AND GIVEAWAY – R.K LILLEY – UP IN THE AIR SERIES | Jessy's Book Club

  8. M says:

    Okay. I’m downloading Consequences series, Knight and Undeniable. The rest, I’ve read and LOVED. I specially love the dark and twisty ones (Caleb and Soren, OMG!)

    I’m glad I stumbled upon this blog. Can’t wait for Friday, the Lord is coming!!! 🙂
    Kudos and more power!

    • Knight and Undeniable were incredibly sexy reads…though the ‘heroes’ are more ‘anti-heroes’. And since I also love dark twisty reads I know you’ll enjoy Consequences….crazy crazy twisty ride!

      Welcome to the blog and please give me dark twisty recommendations 🙂

  9. Pingback: Bonus Scene – The Dark Duet: Epilogue (Caleb’s POV) | Jessy's Book Club

  10. Pingback: Upcoming Giveaway – Grounded by R.K Lilley!!!! | Jessy's Book Club

  11. Pingback: Book Review – Power Play – Charlotte Stein | Jessy's Book Club

  12. Pingback: Interview + Giveaway – C.J. Roberts author of The Dark Duet!!! | Jessy's Book Club

  13. Pingback: Cover Reveal – Convicted (Consequences #3) – Aleatha Romig | Jessy's Book Club

  14. Pingback: Fighter Romance Books! | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

