Book Review – Exquisite (Exquisite Series #1) – Ella Frank

This book had been recommended to me and i’d had it in my TBR list for sometime so I decided to read it over the weekend. The writing is really good and I quite enjoyed the story. I have to be honest that it did not pull me in emotionally as some books have but I loved that it had mature characters. Actually I will say more about the characters because they were so well written and fleshed out.

First things first; Dr Lena O’Donnell has spent the last nine years in survival mode. Struggling through days that seem to blend together and battling her way through each horrifying night, she’s determined that this is what she deserves…Mason Langley is a confirmed bachelor and the successful owner of the hottest restaurant to hit Chicago. The two are worlds apart in their outlook in life but fate conspires to bring them together; a story about two people saving each other and themselves.

The characters were beautifully written and I loved that they were mature professionals in their 30s not 20-something year old billionaires! 🙂 I identified with Lena (strong headed, smart, guarded) and I loved that though Mason was handsome, successful and a local celebrity, he still had a close relationship with both his mother and sister which made him remain down to earth and friendly. All in all, the characters were people you’d meet down the street which is why I loved it.

Was the book itself “Exquisite”? No. But it is a really good debut. I just wish it had more sex (Mason is so sexy, I pictured Henry Cavill the entire time) so I would have loved to see more sparks fly. I also would have loved more angst. It was there in the end but I wish there was more. I wanted to feel as sad as Mason was or as heartbroken as Lena was but I didn’t. I laughed a lot though because of the banter between Rachel and Mason and between Lena and Shelly.

So again, good debut and i’d really like to see what the author writes in future. Oh and this is part of a series. The next book is about Shelly (Lena’s bestfriend.)

I give it 3.5 Stars.

Amazon – Exquisite by Ella Frank

Image

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

