Book Review – Beautiful Disaster – Jamie McGuire

I’ll start by saying that i’ve read this book 3 times…and i’ll probably read it many more times! Where to start…I loved loved LOVED Travis Maddox. He is the tattooed, Harley driving, hot headed and just plain hot main character in this awesome contemporary romance. I have to be honest, I go for books with characters about my age and the fact that Travis is in his early 20s and in college should have put me off. It did have some silly “High School” like situations but very few and they do not take away from the story as a whole.

The girl, Abby Abernathy is a very good girl who comes from a bad past and is determined to change her life. She meets Travis and is determined to stay away from everything that he is. Did I mention that he’s a womanizer? Travis however finds her “refreshing” since she’s not throwing herself at him like all the other girls he knows.

Travis leaned on the table with his elbows, his brown eyes fixated on mine. “So what’s your story, Pidge? Are you a man-hater in general or do you just hate me?”

“I think it’s just you,” I grumbled

He laughed once, amused at my mood. “I can’t figure you out. You’re the first girl that’s ever been disgusted with me before sex. You don’t get all flustered when you talk to me, and you don’t try to get my attention.”

“It’s not a ploy. I just don’t like you.”

“You wouldn’t be here if you didn’t like me.”

My frown involuntarily smoothed and I sighed, “I didn’t say you’re a bad person. I just don’t like being a foregone conclusion for the sole reason of having a vagina.”

Yup definitely loved the writing, the characters and everything in between! Travis is outwardly confident but inwardly vulnerable and…well…again I can’t give anything away but I just fell in love with this book! So many situations I wish I could quote because of how much they pulled me in. Super angsty, romantic and yes downright swoon-worthy read.

5 stars with cherries on top!
Amazon – Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Image

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Book Review – Beautiful Disaster – Jamie McGuire

  1. Pingback: E-Book Bargains!!! « Jessy's Book Club

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Books – 2012 « Jessy's Book Club

  3. Pingback: Book Review – Falling Stars – Sadie Grubor « Jessy's Book Club

  4. Pingback: Name-That-Book Giveaway! | Jessy's Book Club

  5. Kelly A says:

    Quick question I have been going back and forth on buying this book for a while now. I am really into the possessive alpha male type books like the “This Man Trilogy” and the “Up in the Air Series” is this book like these at all?

    • I think he’s super possessive… not controlling like Jesse Ward at all… not even close to the milder James Cavendish who’s more possessive than controlling. But since the three are in my top five favorites I’ll try explain the difference more… Travis is in Uni (College)…young, passionate, loving and when he loves he loves; begging, screaming, shouting. And that’s the difference with Jesse and James. Also unlike the other two, Beautiful Disaster is Contemporary Romance maybe New Adult, definitely not anywhere as steamy as the other two. Why I loved it was how much Travis loved… it was just beautiful to read… hope I helped!

  6. Pingback: Book Review – Walking Disaster – Jamie McGuire | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

