Book Review – S.E.C.R.E.T – L Marie Adeline

Let me start by saying that the whole premise of the book is one I fully support and I for one wish such a society existed. And if it does, then more power to you!

Cassie is a 35 year old widow who hasn’t had sex in 5 years. She works as a waitress in a small cafe in New Orleans and one day one of her regular customers drops a notebook . She reads an entry which details a menage account. Next day the customer comes looking for her notebook followed by an older woman, Matilda. Matilda gives Cassie a card with the words S.E.C.R.E.T on it and asks Cassie to call her.

S.E.C.R.E.T is a society of women whose motto is ‘No Judgements. No limits. No shame.’ The basic idea is to sexually empower women. Women who are going through periods of fear or self doubt and because of it have given up on love, sex and companionship.

So S.E.C.R.E.T makes the women (Cassie in this case) write down a number of fantasies and S.E.C.R.E.T will make them come true; you know, sex with a stranger, public sex, sex with someone famous etc. All Cassie has to do is accept each step and complete the fantasy whereby she’ll receive a charm to add to her bracelet.

The men in the fantasies were hot as hell! My favorite being the tattooed Jesse. How sexy was he?! I would have skipped the rest of the fantasies after meeting him :) I did roll my eyes a bit during some of the fantasies but I guess I also have some eye roll worthy fantasies myself so who am I to talk ;)

The book was a bit slow, not one I was eagerly looking forward to read at the end of the day but there was a lot that made me stick with it. I thought I knew how it would end though. I thought I could see it a mile away but I was so wrong! That ending was a shocker which for me either signals a sequel or leaves me with too many questions. For example, the women who choose to stay with S.E.C.R.E.T after the steps, do their fantasies continue? Do they find joy just in the mentoring? Because nothing was said about them having partners.

So of course I rushed to Goodreads to find out about the possibility of a sequel and there seems to be one to be released in October this year. I just do not know if it continues with Cassie and the same characters or starts with new ones.

Apart from being a bit slow I also thought the author used too many euphemisms. The word clit for example does not appear at all. The author preferred “sweetest spot” and many other descriptors to actual words. I mean I get the need for diversity but it is erotica after all.

All in all, I love the theme of sexual emancipation. I feel like women will identify with the book. I can’t say I was ever the feminist  but I not so secretly wish this secret society exists.

I give it 3.5 Stars

Amazon: S.E.C.R.E.T by L Marie Adeline

Image

Finally, I would like to thank NetGalley and Random House for providing this ARC for my honest review.

This entry was posted in Erotica and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Review – S.E.C.R.E.T – L Marie Adeline

  1. Bennita says:

    This is a very interesting and original concept. Great review.

  2. wolfshadow says:

    Jessy,

    I’m with you about not using words like clit or cock. Fifty Shades of Grey while good was so poorly written that when I read the books a second time I actually crossed out lines and substituted different words. (I hated her ‘inner goddess’). And she always referred to Anastasia’s ‘sex’ instead of clit or cunt. I mean they were in the kinky Red Room of Pain! I don’t even think she called Christian’s penis as a cock…can’t remember?

    What did you think of “Bared to You” and “Reflected in You” by Sylvia Day? I loved both of those books! I can’t wait for the third book!. I like dirty talk during the sex and when the couple may be whispering to each other in public…etc. Do you know of any books similar to “Bared to You”? I’m new to this so any suggestions to M/F erotica books with no BDSM I’d really appreciate it.

    I’m glad I found your blog! I love it.

    Thanks for your help. Laurie

    • I remember the thing I minded most about FSoG is the “he touched me down there”…I mean granted she was a virgin and it’s told in her POV… I’m not sure I remember using the word cunt back then…even in my Jackie Collins reading days :) but now for sure it annoys me, especially in a book like this one!

      I loved the Crossfire series! Let me see, i’d suggest:

      Up in the Air Series by R.K Lilley (Book #1 – In Flight and Book #2 – Mile High with Book #3 coming out on Feb 12th). I’d say James Cavendish is a mix between Gideon and Christian…

      Knight by Kristin Ashley. I loved Knight! He’s a dirty talker for sure :)

      This Man trilogy by Jodi Ellen Malpas (Book #1 This Man and Book #2 Beneath this Man)

      Other books you should try are Undeniable by Madeline Sheehan and Control by Charlotte Stein. Not like Crossfire but I loved them…

      oh and welcome to the blog :)

  3. Pingback: Review: Secret by L. Marie Adeline | Smexy Books

Leave a Reply

